Backup Failing with "Server out of data storage space" Error

RandomAdmin

Active Newcomer
Reaction score
Hello all,

I'm a complete newbie to the TSM world and, as often happens, I was tasked to take care of the product without having proper training or know how transfer, anyhow I am trying my best to learn it so here I am.
I've already search the same issue among older posts but it seems I've hit a blocker and would need some help from the experts.

As per subject I have a server, more specifically an Exchange server, with failing backups due the above error message, TSM Server is 6.3 running on top of a Windows 2008 box all Exchange backups go to disk storage pool and then to tape library an IBM 3592.

Code:
Storage         Device          Estimated       Pct       Pct     High     Low     Next Stora-
Pool Name       Class Name       Capacity      Util      Migr      Mig     Mig     ge Pool
                                                                   Pct     Pct
-----------     ----------     ----------     -----     -----     ----     ---     -----------
TAPEPOOL_T-     3592_TL01       156,771 G      50.6      66.0       80      60
L01
TAPEPOOL_T-     3592_TL02       155,778 G      50.4
L02

DISKPOOLCO-     DISK              1,005 G      87.0      86.7       80      60     TAPEPOOL_T-
LL                                                                                 L01

From the above output I've removed archive pools which are not used as part of the backup to keep output short, from what I understand diskpool is 87% full but on tape pool I should have plenty of space but yet the backup fails.

My question would be how can I make certain there is enough space to write the data? Put differently how I can verify which of the stgpool does not have enough space? The message itself is self explanatory but not helping me nail the issue.