Backup-Archive GUI Client won't Start, TSM Services Absent after Install

iloveemmi

Active Newcomer
Reaction score
Good Morning (where applicable) everyone!
My name is Richard and I am a new Network Admin, previously a home-user PC Tech. This whole world is quite new and exciting for me, so be patient as I awkwardly stumble through this post.

We have a domain infrastructure with the two primary domains hanging from an empty root. The two applicable domains are "Properties" and "SC". I and the tape-backup system are located in "SC", the file server (2008r2 x64, 2.8ghz dual core, 2gb RAM, plenty of HDD space) that we wish to install the client on is located in "Properties" which is located on a WAN, via VPN, over a reasonable home-grade broadband connection (location is remote). This file server is a very simple machine and does not host SQL or anything else exotic.

The Client Node has been created and Scheduled in the Integrated Solutions Console.

I load the installer as an admin (5.5.3.3-TIV-TS-MBAC-WindX64). The installer seems to progress normally; however, after the process is completed without errors I am annoyed to discover that when I double click Backup-Archive GUI in the start menu nothing seems to happen. When I load task manager I do see that dsm.exe is in memory. I check the services console and discover no TSM services exist. I open the path C:\Program Files\Tivoli\TSM\baclient and notice that dsmerror is present but dsmsched is missing.

I have attempted to remove and re-install several times.
On the advice of this article, http://publib.boulder.ibm.com/infoc...ibm.itsmm.doc_5.3.3/update/cli_diag_tips.html, I checked the windows system logs for applicable errors, nothing seemed relevant and there were no errors or warnings at the applicable times. A few of the other bits of advice in that article have not been implemented because I could not determine applicability or determine how to perform the tasks described.