backup failed with insufficient space/No reclamation/No Move works (VTL)

cosmic

Active Newcomer
Reaction score
PREDATAR Control23

Hello TSM Admins and all,

I'm a linux admin and new to TSM, except from some notions I know very little about tape and space managament in TSM.

I have two stgpool (each in a separate VTL Lib), one is the next of the first, and have failed backup with error:

ANR2111W RECLAIM STGPOOL: There is no data to process for MCLEBS_VTL_BACK. (SESSION: 23981)
ANR2034E SELECT: No match found using this criteria. (SESSION: 23980)
ANR1086E Space reclamation is ended for volume 000363L3. There is insufficient space in storage pool. (PROCESS: 3836)
ANR1893E Process 3836 for SPACE RECLAMATION completed with a completion state of FAILURE. (PROCESS: 3836)
ANR1086E Space reclamation is ended for volume 000396L3. There is insufficient space in storage pool. (PROCESS: 3837)
ANR1893E Process 3837 for SPACE RECLAMATION completed with a completion state of FAILURE. (PROCESS: 3837)
ANR2111W RECLAIM STGPOOL: There is no data to process for MCLEBS_VTL_BACK. (SESSION: 23981)
ANR1405W Scratch volume mount request denied - no scratch volume available. (PROCESS: 3835)
ANR1086E Space reclamation is ended for volume 000130L3. There is insufficient space in storage pool. (PROCESS: 3835)
ANR1893E Process 3835 for SPACE RECLAMATION completed with a completion state of FAILURE. (PROCESS: 3835)

The primary stgpool has two empty volumes and show 0 in capacity colomun (in GUI). I couldn't do any reclamation or a move of data to the next pool. I don't know why it's not using those empty volumes!!!

I have many scratch volumes in both of the VTL used by the stgpools, the primary pool has maxscratsch volume=6 and used ones=4, the next stgpool has 20 and used 20.