Opinions and questions on client side compression versus drive compression?

ldmwndletsm

ADSM.ORG Senior Member
Reaction score
We're using IBM LTO-6 drives. TSM 8.1.3 on Linux. I'm new to this environment (different work site) since I've been managing an EMC NetWorker environment (not the same work site), also with IBM LTO-6 drives where we've used only drive compression, not client. But in my TSM environment, client side compression has been the standard.

1. Is client side compression only set via the 'Compression' setting for the node definition on the TSM server? Nowhere else?

2. If you want to turn on/off compression for a specific node then does this require having to start/stop the client software on that machine, and/or the TSM server, after you update the setting for the node configuration?

3. Is there anything to be aware of when disabling/re-enabling this feature?

4. If the data was compressed on the client, and this option is later turned off for the node, then will it still un-compress it?

5. What if drive compression is enabled, and the data was already compressed first on the client?

Will the drive be smart enough to see that it's already compressed and just write to tape as is? Or will it try to further compress it, possibly wasting valuable time, particularly on very large files?

The reason I ask here is that it's my understanding that drive compression is usually enabled by the manufacturer and will remain so unless you overtly turn if it off. I've done this before, just as a temporary test, using the 'mt' command, but I don't recall now the command to probe the drive to report whether compression is enabled or not. Anyway, with EMC NetWorker, I've relied exclusively on drive compression since our network was reasonably fast, and I was of the opinion (maybe a false one) that drive/hardware compression was more efficient.