Basic Licensing Question

jlehtinen

Active Newcomer
Reaction score
PREDATAR Control23

Total noob question here.

Been running a really basic TSM 6.3 server for over a year. Not a production system, only about 10 clients. Software was obtained via PartnerWorld for development/testing use.

Noticed that a 'q lic' shows FAILED status with the only 'in use' component being Basic Edition.

I don't really understand how licensing works for this stuff - do I need to run "register license file=*.lic " ? Will that screw up the existing nodes/policies/etc. that have been defined on the server?

I'm honestly surprised the server has been working fine for this long with no issues if it was never licensed..

PREDATAR Control23

To apply licensing, you need to run "register license file=*.lic", and it would NOT affect any set policies.

However, to be 'legal' you have to pay license fees for the various nodes accessing the TSM server. The command above only licenses your TSM server assuming the license file was part of the fee you paid when you bought the software.

Last edited:
PREDATAR Control23

Well, this TSM server is used in a lab/development environment. I know we're "legal" as we get access to IBM's full software catalog via our PartnerWorld licensing (we're an IBM business partner).

I guess I'm more curious if I need to run the license command to ensure the server continues to work correctly, or if I should just leave it alone.

PREDATAR Control23

Thanks Ed. Couple more noob questions if you don't mind...

So that command will generates a set of license files for the server - how are these used or how do they apply to the server?

I guess I don't understand this model. I'm used to providing a license TO a server in order for it to function. This seems to be backwards, where I'm already up and running - and now I ask the server to generate licenses for me.

PREDATAR Control23