TSM and PowerHA (HACMP)

DanGiles

ADSM.ORG Senior Member
Reaction score
We will soon be implementing TSM on AIX with PowerHA. The environment will consistest of two servers - one library manager and one client - plus a number of LAN-free clients. There is not much out there in terms of documentation, and I am mostly concerned with what happens to drives and tapes that are in use during a fail-over.

I went through the redbook for TSM 5.5 & HACMP, and it looks like TSM should clean itself up on start-up. The problem is that I've seldom experienced this 'clean-up' in real life! There's usually a lot of manual reseting of drives and volumes after a non-graceful shut-down.

So, anyone using this configuration in real life? Any caveats or recommendations?

Sorry Dan,

I have no experience with HACMP deployment of TSM.

But, if all that is adverstised is true, device fail-over should be 'automatic' with AIX. The reason I am saying this is the fact that IBM's DS8000 series SAN arrays uses AIX boxes to control the disk arrays. Failover works almost magically.

If you apply the same logic to a HACMP-defined TSM environment, the device is really under the control of the 'virtual' cluster environment which TSM sees. Therefore, TSM does NOT care which node holds the devices. It just interfaces with the 'virtual' machine.

I have no concern over the actual transferance of resources between machines. My concerns refer to my other post: what happens on fail-over when drives are in use? Will TSM actually clean up the library (unload drives, move cartridges) when it restarts?

I have no concern over the actual transferance of resources between machines. My concerns refer to my other post: what happens on fail-over when drives are in use? Will TSM actually clean up the library (unload drives, move cartridges) when it restarts?

I believe the answer is 'it will stay as is and keep on running'.