Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Estimated Capacity with LTO3

    Hi!

    We have got a new TS3500 (3584) with three LTO3-drives. Our old library is a 3583 with three LTO1-drives. Now I have to move data from the old to the new library. I altough have to move data from different disk pools (random access).

    I am using the MOVE DATE command in following way:

    "MOVE DATA "volume_name" STG="new stg" RECONS=Yes [when the old pool ist sequential]

    At the beginning the estimated capacity of the new volume is 745 GB what seams to be alright. But almost all the tapes go in status "full" with 398,3 GB. But I thought it should be able to store about 800 GB at LTO3 tapes!

    Here ist the definition of the device class:


    Device Access Strategy: Sequential
    Format: Drive
    Device Type: LTO
    Estimated capacity: blank

    What is going wrong? Do anybody have an idea?

    Thanks for help in advance!
    Last edited by edv_edi; 01-27-2007 at 04:58 PM. Reason: failure by saving

  2. #2
    Moderator Harry_Redl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Czech Republic
    Posts
    2,231
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 100 Times in 99 Posts

    Default Re: Estimated Capacity with LTO3

    Hi,

    what your "q drive f=d" says?
    Do you see it can write Ultrium3C (compressed) format? Do you have compression enabled on the drives (not in TSM)
    Seems to me it can store only the native tape capacit (400GB) now ....

    Hope it helps

    Harry

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    417
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Default

    As Harry suggested make sure that in the device class for the LTO3 drive, the format parameter is set to ULTRIUM3C (from your output it seems that you have it set a DRIVE). This will enable compression on the drive and you will get better capacity. I am using LTO3 drives and in case of TDP for oracle backupws, getting over a terabyte on one tape. In most cases the amount stored one one tape is around 700 - 900 GB.

    Regards

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    HI!

    I think I have got the bottom of this problem! We use the client compression and so the data are allready compressed, when they arrive the drive. And double compression is not able. When I understand the administrator manual correctly, TSM is not able to shows the estimated capacity of client compressed data correctly.
    How ever, it seems as if it works correctly, or am I wrong?

    Much thanks for your posts! They brougt me on the right track!

    Rainer

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •