Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Liverpool
    Posts
    95
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Hello,



    My desired goal is to have the ability to restore files to a server, without Terminal Servicing to the server or logging on locally.



    The way I would go about this is to install the TSM Web Client, http to the machine and then perform the restore. Sounds good, but I'm having a few technical problems.



    The installation runs fine, but when I try and connect remotely over http I get an error that the TSM Remote Client Agent was unable to start. So I try starting the service from services.msc, but receive the following error



    http://img291.imageshack.us/img291/7744/hello1cn.jpg



    I have tried the service with multiple credentials and on two different clients, with the same results.



    And ideas
    http://ryanpartington.com || Technical Expert
    Курите меня лосось, я вернусь на завтрак

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    PARIS
    Posts
    1,074
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    what does the Error logs are saying exactly?



    why don't you use the "Local system" account to lunch the service?



    i heard that there was some security (on firewalll, Internet explorer 6) wich can block the remote agent so you can't take remote control on the system (win2003).



    have a look on this forum's history, I am sur you will find something

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Liverpool
    Posts
    95
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    May,



    Error logs say the same as error message in screenshot, I have tried local system.

    I can't start the service locally, never mind not been able to connect remotly.



    Cheers
    http://ryanpartington.com || Technical Expert
    Курите меня лосось, я вернусь на завтрак

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    PARIS
    Posts
    1,074
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    the error "could not start Remote Client Agent" is normal...



    you just can't start it manually, it is compulsary started by the "CAD" service.



    dis you try by uninstalling and re-Install ??









    here is what IBM say:

    ------------------------



    Problem:

    -----------

    Why does "ANS2619S The Client Acceptor Daemon was unable to start the Remote Client Agent" occur after installing and starting the TSM web client on Windows?







    Solution:

    -----------

    The TSM web client can be installed manually, or with the TSM client GUI setup wizard. It is recommended to use the TSM client GUI setup wizard, which will install and properly configure the TSM web client services (TSM client acceptor daemon and TSM remote client agent). If the TSM web client services must be installed using the dsmcutil.exe utility, please make sure that the TSM client acceptor daemon service installation is performed with the /startnow:no and /autostart:yes options, and the remote client agent service installation is performed with the /startnow:no and /autostart:no options. This will prevent the ANS2619S error from occurring.



    For example, the following installation syntax would be correct (run from the TSM Backup/Archive client installation directory):



    dsmcutil install CAD /name:"TSM Client Acceptor" /node:node /passwordassword /startnow:no /autostart:yes



    dsmcutil install RemoteAgent /name:"TSM Remote Client Agent" /node:node /passwordassword /partnername:"TSM Client Acceptor" /startnow:no /autostart:no



    After these two services are installed, initialize the TSM client acceptor daemon service via the Windows services application or the MS-DOS command:



    net start "TSM Client Acceptor"



    where "TSM Client Acceptor" is the name of the installed client acceptor daemon service. Web client access should then work correctly.




  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Liverpool
    Posts
    95
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    I can start the CAD with no problem, and now understand that I should not be starting the Remote Web client manually, cheers.



    This is the error I receive when trying to perform any operations remotely, using IE, or Firefox.



    http://img377.imageshack.us/img377/5817/go1ut.jpg



    Thanks for the time spent on thisMay.
    http://ryanpartington.com || Technical Expert
    Курите меня лосось, я вернусь на завтрак

  6. #6

    Default

    What is the setting of ManagedServices in the dsm.opt?



    Can you refer DSMWEBCl.log and error.log ?

Similar Threads

  1. Remote Client Agent Service on a Windows Cluster server.
    By stroke4 in forum Backup / Archive Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-23-2005, 04:38 PM
  2. TSM Client on W2K or Win 2003 with GigE NIC
    By cgrone in forum TSM Client
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-14-2005, 09:32 PM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-25-2005, 11:51 AM
  4. Problem running TSM Scheduler for TDPExchange 2003 client
    By hgendreau in forum TDP/Application Layer Backup
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-10-2004, 10:05 AM
  5. help with MSCS clustering and ba clients
    By joew in forum Backup / Archive Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-07-2004, 04:40 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •