Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Newcomer
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default TSM Client in Windows 7 64-Bits

    Greetings All,
    I have an issue with running TSM clients on windows 7 64-bits OS. It requires the administrative right to run it. How to fix this? My version is 5.5.0.0. provided that windows 7 cannot use windows xp on comapitibility version. It uses upto windows Vista.

  2. #2
    Senior Member domino's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    702
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 24 Times in 22 Posts

    Default

    5.5.0.0 isn't supported
    http://www-01.ibm.com/support/docvie...client_windows

    You should be use 6.2.4.x or higher
    If Microsoft is the answer, I want my problem back!

  3. #3
    Newcomer
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Does it matter what version my server is? can Client 6.2.4.x connect to TSM server 5.5.1?

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Brno
    Posts
    121
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 19 Times in 18 Posts

    Default

    Windows 7 is supported already by 5.5 client (not neccessary 6.x client but:

    Windows 7, all editions (except Automated System Recovery (ASR)), all SPs supported. Client level 5.5.2.12 or higher required.

    see http://www-01.ibm.com/support/docvie...id=swg21197133

  5. #5
    Newcomer
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Actually, 5.5.0 works fine but it needs Administrive Privilege to run. Will upgrading to TSM client 5.5.2.12 or higher fix the issue?
    all of my user are not granted Administrive Privilege on OS.

  6. #6
    Senior Member domino's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    702
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 24 Times in 22 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by yagoms0a View Post
    Does it matter what version my server is? can Client 6.2.4.x connect to TSM server 5.5.1?
    yes
    http://www-01.ibm.com/support/docvie...id=swg21053218
    If Microsoft is the answer, I want my problem back!

  7. #7
    Senior Member domino's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    702
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 24 Times in 22 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by yagoms0a View Post
    Actually, 5.5.0 works fine but it needs Administrive Privilege to run. Will upgrading to TSM client 5.5.2.12 or higher fix the issue?
    all of my user are not granted Administrive Privilege on OS.
    http://pic.dhe.ibm.com/infocenter/ts..._consider.html
    If Microsoft is the answer, I want my problem back!

  8. #8
    Newcomer
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    I installed TSM client 6.2.4.2 but I got a message saying :Unknown system error. Please check the TSM error log for any additional information
    Please advice

  9. #9
    Senior Member domino's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    702
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 24 Times in 22 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by yagoms0a View Post
    I installed TSM client 6.2.4.2 but I got a message saying :Unknown system error. Please check the TSM error log for any additional information
    Please advice
    Please check the TSM error log for any additional information ... and put the output here
    If Microsoft is the answer, I want my problem back!

  10. #10
    Newcomer
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by domino View Post
    Please check the TSM error log for any additional information ... and put the output here
    This is what was written to the log
    11/24/2012 10:29:34: ANS5179E TSM is unable to continue. Exiting program.IMBase (Constructor): Dsmagent exited with code: -1
    11/24/2012 10:33:12: ANS5179E TSM is unable to continue. Exiting program.

  11. #11
    Senior Member domino's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    702
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 24 Times in 22 Posts
    If Microsoft is the answer, I want my problem back!

  12. #12
    Newcomer
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    I have an issue with MApped drives only. Mapped drives are listed under network tab when login as lcal administrator but I can not see them when login as a normal user. Another issue is I cannot select the compatibility mode for OS earlier than Windows Vista.
    Please help my operation is down
    my email is mohammed.yagoub@gmail.com

Similar Threads

  1. TSM Client on windows server 2008 - R2 - 64 Bits
    By ramohi in forum TSM Client
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 08-17-2010, 01:28 PM
  2. TDP for Domino7 (32 bits) on Windows 2003 X64
    By the2plan in forum TDP/Application Layer Backup
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-25-2008, 06:02 AM
  3. Restore DB 64 Bits,
    By freeman2030 in forum Restore / Recovery Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-12-2007, 11:39 PM
  4. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11-27-2006, 12:26 PM
  5. TDP 5.3.2 (64-bits) DB2 problems TSM Linux
    By infantino in forum TDP/Application Layer Backup
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-21-2006, 08:05 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •