Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Lost Wages (Las Vegas), NV, USA
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Is there a SecureCRT emulator to duplicate the windows command line dsmadmc functions

    Hello. I have a very unusual question related to setting up SecureCRT emulation to get the most out of my dsmadmc connection experience. Up until now, I've been using the Windows Command Line (formerly known as DOS) based dsmadmc.exe to connect to each of the 17 TSM servers I have to monitor daily (mainly because I still can't stand the ISC). Unfortunately, my department is now being forced to switch to Linux based laptops with Virtual Windows emulation, and we're being told to use Secure-CRT for connecting to our servers instead of the Windows command line. But it seems that no matter which combination of emulators and key mappings I try in S-CRT, I can't duplicate ANY of the following features I'm used to enjoying with the Windows dsmadmc command line:

    1) The ability to copy in columns instead of just line by line (comes in handy for checking groups of tapes in or out).

    2) The ability to copy using mouse highlight and enter, and to paste using the mouse to right-click.

    3) The ability to make "insert" the default editing mode instead of "replace" (this one REALLY drives me nuts).

    4) The ability to use the home key to go to the beginning of a line and the end key to go to the end of a line when editing a command.

    5) The ability to use scaled raster fonts (i.e. terminal font with 8x12 pixel size) -- This one is a really minor complaint and is nowhere NEAR as critical as the other 4 features I want.

    Does anyone know of a way to set up a Secure-CRT session to do ALL of the above (or at least 1 through 4)? Perhaps a "cmd.exe emulator" package? Any assistance would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Grevenbroich / Germany
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Default

    Hi Glenn, you can use the Facilitator from Zockinger.com. All of your listed features are implemented in this tool.

    Have fun .

    cheers Ugur

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Lost Wages (Las Vegas), NV, USA
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Facilitator

    Thanks for letting me know about that product. It's a little busy and confusing at first, and I wish there was a "maximize" option for the main text connection to each TSM server, but it looks promising so far.

    - Glenn


    Quote Originally Posted by cilesiz View Post
    Hi Glenn, you can use the Facilitator from Zockinger.com. All of your listed features are implemented in this tool.

    Have fun .

    cheers Ugur

Similar Threads

  1. dsmadmc and dsmc command line is getting hung
    By aixtsmsan in forum Command Line Administrator Client
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-15-2011, 01:10 PM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-12-2011, 07:43 PM
  3. DSMADMC command line parameters
    By piedone in forum Scripting
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-16-2010, 11:02 PM
  4. Smart Command Line Scripting in Windows
    By ironzulu in forum Scripting
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-01-2009, 07:59 AM
  5. Using cmd line and DSMADMC
    By dwjongbloed in forum Command Line Administrator Client
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-07-2007, 09:49 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •