Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Senior Member GregE's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    2,100
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 17 Times in 16 Posts

    Default Export/Import Filespace Names

    Running some exports of Windows clients, directly to another TSM server, I decided to run one without exporting systemstate. So I used the FSID parameter in the EXPORT command to just export the drives C and D. (FSID=2,3)

    On the source server, the filespaces are named like \\clientname\c$ and \\clientname\d$.

    On the target, it named them \\clientname\c1 and \\clientname\d1.

    The only difference in this client and previous ones, is that I chose specific filespaces to export, instead of the entire node.

    What is its reason for naming the imported filespaces differently?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Birmingham, UK
    Posts
    537
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts

    Default

    Hi

    I just tried the same thing with a windows host and using fsid from 5.5.4 to 6.3 TSM servers and it worked ok and kept c$

    No clues in the actlog as to why this happened ?

    Cheers

  3. #3
    Senior Member GregE's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    2,100
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 17 Times in 16 Posts

    Default

    I can't remember but I must have started the export then stopped it and deleted the filespaces and started again.

    I noticed yesterday, if you create a filespace then delete it, the TSM server keeps a record of that name and FSID, though you cannot query it. So if you try to rename "C1" to "C$" after it's created, it errors, telling you "C$" already exists, though you have no way of seeing it. Also, the FSID is taken by that same "orphaned" filespace.

    So say you have 3 filespaces..........systemsstate, C$, and D$, with FSIDs of 1,2,3. If you delete filespaces C$ and D$ and let them create again, they will get FSID of 4 and 5. And apparently, they will get a name of C1 and D1.

  4. #4
    Senior Member GregE's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    2,100
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 17 Times in 16 Posts

    Default

    Apparently my previous post also isn't always the case.

    Today I am exporting 3 nodes.............filespace names \\server\c$ and \\server\d$ and FSIDs of 2 and 3. On the target server, it has created filespace names of \\server\c1 and \\server\d1 and FSIDs of 4 and 5.

    But also creates c$ and d$, with FSIDs of 2 and 3.

    Q FILE shows all of them. c$ and c1 are equal in size, while d$ and d1 are equal in size. The export is done, and all of those filespaces exist, so am deleting 4 and 5. Does this make sense? Are these c1 and d1 just temp files that will be deleted at some point without my intervention?

    Q OCC does NOT show all of them. It only shows c1 and d1.
    Last edited by GregE; 01-02-2013 at 07:34 PM.

Similar Threads

  1. Need Help in Import and export
    By shinde in forum Restore / Recovery Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-14-2012, 05:20 PM
  2. Export / Import
    By mit2493 in forum Backup / Archive Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-06-2007, 09:41 AM
  3. Windows Filespace Names
    By gzbwmr in forum Backup / Archive Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-16-2006, 12:20 AM
  4. Scripts with UNC filespace names?
    By edwyr in forum Scripting
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-06-2004, 02:39 PM
  5. Export/Import node filespace file/byte count discrepancy
    By tritter1957 in forum Backup / Archive Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-13-2002, 04:06 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •