Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Newcomer
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Can't checkin new tapes

    I have a group of new 3592 L&I (labeled and initialized) tapes that I can't label or checkin to the library.

    command: label libv dlib search=yes volran=hd0500,hd0504 checkin=scratch
    result: message says these tapes are already labeled with the same volume name

    command: checkin libv dlib search=yes voll=hd0500,hd0501,hd0502,hd0503,hd0504 status=scratch
    result: message says 0 volumes found

    If I define these volumes as members of a stgpool then the command "q vol hd050* f=d" shows thes volumes to be empty and NOT scratch tapes. Any attempt to update the status to scratch results in error ANR8443E, "volume...cannot be assigned a status of scratch".

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Moderator moon-buddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Somewhere in the US
    Posts
    5,949
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 235 Times in 230 Posts

    Default

    Where are the tapes physically when you run the label or checkin commands? Are the tapes in the I/O slots or in the library sitting on slots?

    If the tapes are on the I/O:

    label libvol <library_name> search=bulk volr=<list_of_tapes> labels=barcode overwrite=yes checkin=scratch waitt=0
    checkin libvol <library_name> search=bulk volr=<list_of_tapes> checkl=barcode status=scratch waitt=0

    If the tapes are in the library already:

    label libvol <library_name> search=yes volr=<list_of_tapes> labels=barcode overwrite=yes checkin=scratch waitt=0
    checkin libvol <library_name> search=yes volr=<list_of_tapes> checkl=barcode status=scratch waitt=0
    Ed

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    516
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Default

    If you are sure that the tapes are empty:

    backup the volhist

    do this for each volume
    del vol xxx

    then
    then del vlohist type=all todate=today (this will only remov information about deleted volumesm/volumes not needed, not containing data)

    Then run a new label libvol with overwrite option .
    label libv dlib search=yes volran=hd0500,hd0504 checkin=scratch -overwrite=yes
    Windows, does it come with a gui?

  4. #4
    Newcomer
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    OK, I'm now able to checkin these tapes. When I first issued the "label" command I didn't include the overwrite=yes option, and subsequently these tapes were ejected into the silo cap. Since the tape silo is at a remote site I had to call the operator to check if these tapes had ejected, and if so to reinsert them. After the tapes were reinserted I was able to successfully label/checkin the tapes with the overwrite=yes option.

    Thank you Ed and hogmaster for your time and expertise.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    516
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Default

    Great, Thanks for the feedback.
    Windows, does it come with a gui?

Similar Threads

  1. checkin new tapes as scratch
    By unixandtsm in forum Tape / Media Library
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-15-2012, 05:48 AM
  2. Cannot Checkin stgdelete Tapes
    By rstockon in forum Tape / Media Library
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-13-2012, 08:15 PM
  3. tapes checkin issue
    By asreddy1986 in forum VTL - Virtual Tape Library
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-10-2011, 12:28 AM
  4. cannot checkin the tapes to library
    By gopher in forum Tape / Media Library
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-26-2009, 09:01 PM
  5. Can't checkin some tapes into the library
    By obiwan2 in forum TSM Server
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-07-2008, 08:19 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •