Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Newcomer
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default backup when permission changes

    If a permission changes on an existing file, will the content of the file will be backed up again? Not sure if it matters, but the filesystem is GPFS.

    Thanks,

    Andras
    Last edited by afrankel; 11-23-2012 at 12:44 PM.

  2. #2

    Default

    From the TSM Client manual -
    http://publib.boulder.ibm.com/infoce...2_7_3_0#unfull

    Back up files whose contents changed since the last backup. The client considers a file changed if any of the following attributes changed since the last backup:
    File size
    Date or time of last modification
    Access Control List
    If only the following items change, they are updated without causing the entire file to be backed up to the server:
    File owner
    File permissions
    Last access time
    Inode
    Group ID

    Good Luck,
    Sias

  3. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to LED888 For This Useful Post:

    admin (11-26-2012),afrankel (11-26-2012)

  4. #3
    Moderator chad_small's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Gilbert, AZ
    Posts
    2,191
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 24 Times in 23 Posts

    Default

    Interesting question:

    One Friday way back in early 2001-2002 we had a user CHMOD all the files and folders in the home directory. We were alerted to the problem Monday (after 3 nights of backups had run) and proceeded to restore the home directory. TSM does not just change the permissions, it has to restore the files...the problem was that none of the files were backed up again. Back in the day (and I think they changed TSM's behavior) when UNIX permissions changed TSM would only update the permission settings in the TSM DB for the file. So restoring the files did us no good since their were no previous versions on many of the files that had the old permission settings. I never did go back and check to see if they changed the behavior. I'm pretty sure they did, but back then it was not how TSM worked.
    Chad Small
    IBM Certified Deployment Professional
    chadsmal@gmail.com
    http://www.tsmadmin.com

  5. #4
    Newcomer
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Chad,

    I would rather backup metadata separately and let TSM backup the data only.

    What hurts us is that our users do a lot of setfacl recursive on their directories. Does anybody know if TSM behaves this way (backup up ACLs) if GPFS uses NFSv4 ACLs only?

    Thanks,

    Andras

  6. #5
    Moderator moon-buddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Somewhere in the US
    Posts
    5,858
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 228 Times in 223 Posts

    Default

    As I recall (current behaviour from version 4.2 and up (not 100% sure)), TSM updates its metadata and when a restore is needed, TSM applies this updated information to the restored data.
    Ed

Similar Threads

  1. Restore - folder permission only
    By kyle007 in forum Restore / Recovery Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-26-2011, 05:51 PM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-01-2010, 04:43 PM
  3. File Permission change
    By back1up in forum Backup / Archive Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-03-2010, 02:54 PM
  4. Backup Archive Client for AIX user permission
    By mabdullah in forum Backup / Archive Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-01-2010, 10:16 AM
  5. security and users permission
    By immortal in forum Backup / Archive Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-31-2008, 06:22 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •