Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Newcomer
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default TSM client for restore purposes

    Hi,

    I installed a TSM client only for restoring. For this I would need to dsm.opt doesn't store the restorable node's name. I would like to configure the client to it asks the nodename and its password all time and open its backed up data.
    If I write only the tcpserveraddres to dsm.opt it doesn't work.

    How can I do this?

    Thanks!
    BR
    Gabor

  2. #2
    Moderator moon-buddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Somewhere in the US
    Posts
    5,857
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 228 Times in 223 Posts

    Default

    DSM.OPT file is needed:

    TCpserveraddress <TSM_IP_addr_or_DNS_name)
    TCpport <if_other_than_1500>
    NOdename <registered_node_name>
    Ed

  3. #3
    Newcomer
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by moon-buddy View Post
    DSM.OPT file is needed:

    TCpserveraddress <TSM_IP_addr_or_DNS_name)
    TCpport <if_other_than_1500>
    NOdename <registered_node_name>
    Hi,

    Yes. But I want to use it without nodename row. I want to use it on a computer which isn't used for backup. Only for restoring.

    Thanks!

  4. #4
    Moderator moon-buddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Somewhere in the US
    Posts
    5,857
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 228 Times in 223 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by piedone View Post
    Hi,

    Yes. But I want to use it without nodename row. I want to use it on a computer which isn't used for backup. Only for restoring.

    Thanks!
    Without the nodename you cannot connect to the TSM server.

    Having the nodename in the dsm.opt file does not mean it will run the backup! The backup runs IF you tell it to. Now, if there is another node out there that has the same nodename and active, you have to disable the TSM scheduler for that node while running a restore on the new node.

    Restart the TSM schedulers after restore is complete.
    Last edited by moon-buddy; 11-16-2012 at 09:17 AM.
    Ed

Similar Threads

  1. New DISK Pool - type filepool - for DR purposes?
    By pichelman in forum TSM Operation
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-29-2011, 08:58 AM
  2. TSM Client Restore
    By zolagbr in forum TSM Server
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11-12-2009, 04:10 AM
  3. Completely emptying disk pool (for troubleshooting purposes)
    By Shaneus in forum Backup / Archive Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-25-2008, 03:47 PM
  4. Archive data for 5 years for audit purposes
    By Rouen in forum BCP / DRP
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-18-2007, 12:50 PM
  5. Backup sets for archive purposes....
    By themadkiwi in forum Backup / Archive Discussion
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 05-24-2005, 08:30 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •