Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Newcomer
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Migration - TSM to Avamar/Data Domain

    New to the site folks and looking for some information.

    Have a scenario whereby one of our clients is contemplating migrating all of their TSM backup data to EMC Avamar and EMC Data Domain.

    I am looking for information around Pro's/Con's of doing so, possible means of doing the migration, risks, benefits etc

  2. #2
    Moderator moon-buddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Somewhere in the US
    Posts
    5,936
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 234 Times in 229 Posts

    Default

    Welcome to the forum!

    First of all, how are you storing your data right now? Tapes?

    To answer your customer needs well, you should find out if they have a need for long term data retention. Avamar and Data Domain are basically disk based and any long term retention means needing more disk foot print and more energy (electricity) to keep the system running. Also, disks isn't portable - you can't just forklift the whole system drop it off on another site and make it run within 6 hours.

    Tapes are easily transportable and easy to forklift. In other words, DR scenarios are easily supported.

    There are other PROs and CONs but these maybe one of the highlights.
    Ed

  3. #3
    Newcomer
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Thanks moon-buddy..interesting point about long term retention residing on disks which I would always agree with but never thought of the power requirements of having this data online 24*7. I understand DD have an appliance for archiving so perhaps these drives are taken off-line until needed.

    The current environment is tape but looking to introduce alot more disk so we can introduce data deduplication at the source and target.

    Aany ideas how a customer would migrate their TSM data on tape to a disk based solution like Avamar and Data Domain - surely this would take a lot of time and money not to mention the risk.

    Quote Originally Posted by moon-buddy View Post
    Welcome to the forum!

    First of all, how are you storing your data right now? Tapes?

    To answer your customer needs well, you should find out if they have a need for long term data retention. Avamar and Data Domain are basically disk based and any long term retention means needing more disk foot print and more energy (electricity) to keep the system running. Also, disks isn't portable - you can't just forklift the whole system drop it off on another site and make it run within 6 hours.

    Tapes are easily transportable and easy to forklift. In other words, DR scenarios are easily supported.

    There are other PROs and CONs but these maybe one of the highlights.

  4. #4
    Moderator moon-buddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Somewhere in the US
    Posts
    5,936
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 234 Times in 229 Posts

    Default

    The way I would do the migration is to move the data by storage pool from tape to DD/Avamar. Just be aware that this may take a long time depending on the number of nodes per storage pool.
    Ed

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    44
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Please be aware, that the DD or Avamar can not deduplicate the Data if Clientcompression or Clientencryption is used in TSM.

    Beside of this you can just define a "next Storagepool" pointing to your DD or Avamar and start Migration of your STG-Pool.

Similar Threads

  1. TSM + Data Domain Pool Replication
    By BrianV in forum Tape / Media Library
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-21-2012, 01:59 PM
  2. TSM using autofs with data domain
    By GilHDay in forum TSM Operation
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-08-2012, 11:08 AM
  3. tsm and data domain replication
    By gfester in forum Capacity Planning
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-17-2011, 06:04 PM
  4. Data Domain and TSM
    By mangle in forum TSM Server
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 08-18-2010, 05:37 PM
  5. TSM with a Data Domain box
    By mangle in forum Others
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-09-2006, 11:48 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •