Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Newcomer
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    49
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Running out of Library Slots - Need an Archive Strategy?

    Hi Guys,
    I've recently noticed that we're running out of space in our TS3310 library and I believe this is because of our current backup policies which in some cases retain data up to 5 years behind. As we do not have any Archive policies set yet, all the live data is kept in our Vault and in the Library. I'd like to be sure before I go ahead and start setting up Archive policies that this will actually help our situation by only storing older data in our Vault rather than in the library? I'd also like to know if there is a way to transfer existing older data from the backup policies to archive policies so that we can already free up some space? (Hope that makes sense?)

    Nick.

  2. #2
    Moderator moon-buddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Somewhere in the US
    Posts
    5,940
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 234 Times in 229 Posts

    Default

    Yes - the archive will help since your retention for the Backup pool will not be 5 years anymore.

    However, you cannot move backup to archive.
    Ed

  3. #3
    Newcomer
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    49
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Thanks moon-dubby! I will proceed with my Archive strategy.

    Is there anything someone can recommend that would help free some space in our library?

  4. #4
    Moderator moon-buddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Somewhere in the US
    Posts
    5,940
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 234 Times in 229 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Slicster View Post
    Thanks moon-dubby! I will proceed with my Archive strategy.

    Is there anything someone can recommend that would help free some space in our library?
    Is collocation turned ON? If it is, and you collocate by node, try collocating by group.
    Ed

  5. #5
    Newcomer
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    49
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Nevermind, I looked into it and it is off on all pools.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    108
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts

    Default

    Mind the databases size before going to archive!!

    miillions of objects will grow the Database big time.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    121
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    if you are struggling with free library slots, you can always free up some slots by taking the oldest tapes which have not been using:

    q media * stg=STGPOOLNAME days=XX

    this will give you the list of tapes not used for XX days

    then use

    move media * stg=STGPOOLNAME days=XX

  8. #8
    Newcomer
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    49
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    I'm not sure I understand what you mean by "millions of objects will grow". ?

  9. #9
    Moderator moon-buddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Somewhere in the US
    Posts
    5,940
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 234 Times in 229 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Slicster View Post
    I'm not sure I understand what you mean by "millions of objects will grow". ?
    Doing archive generally grows the database size - that is what is meant by "millions of objects will grow" or, the database will grow by the corresponding number of objects archived.
    Ed

  10. #10
    Member etchingsj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Lost Wages NV
    Posts
    243
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

    Default

    You can also search for media that is marked full and only has 60% occupancy.

    SELECT 'MARKER', volume_name stgpool_name,pct_utilized from volumes
    WHERE PCT_UTILIZED < 10

    will output something like :

    MARKER VOLUME_NAME STGPOOL_NAME PCT_UTILIZED
    ---------- ------------------ ------------------
    MARKER A40012 pool_name 8.1
    MARKER A40015 pool_name 2.0

    Then simply do a move media or move data and if like said below collocation by group is on TSM will attempt to reorganize the data into its proper group.
    And build out your TS3310 with another E9U cabinet if possible or change your retention before its too late....

    Here is a shell script to automate if you have a ton of tapes and are on a Unix based system.

    Use the grep command to extract lines we want

    grep 'MARKER'

    gives

    MARKER A40012
    MARKER A40015

    use cut to extract the tape volsers

    cut -b 12-

    gives

    A40012
    A40015

    ---------------------------
    Script:

    for volume in
    $(dsmadmc -id=adminname -pass=adminpass -outfile
    "select 'MARKER', volume_name from volumes
    where pct_utilized >20 "
    | grep '^MARKER' | cut -b 12-) ;
    do dsmadmc -id=adminname -pass=adminpass -outfile
    'move data ${volume} options..' ; done

    ------------------
    Good luck!

Similar Threads

  1. Lto Tape Slots Running Out
    By dexter1972 in forum Backup / Archive Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-25-2008, 02:57 PM
  2. IBM tape library running out of slots
    By adsm04 in forum Tape / Media Library
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-09-2007, 10:57 AM
  3. PLEASE HELP : Library does not recognise new expansion slots.
    By sharwin in forum Tape / Media Library
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-24-2006, 05:10 AM
  4. Archive strategy - virtualnode option - what do you think?
    By Harry_Redl in forum Backup / Archive Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-16-2006, 06:56 AM
  5. slots available but tivoli says library full???
    By chrisw669 in forum TSM Server
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-17-2003, 08:04 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •