Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Newcomer
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default TDP for Exchange 6.3 client SPEED ISSUES! (SLOW!!)

    We've recently introduced a number of WIN2k8(r2) servers running Exchange2k10 into our TSM environment. They're running the TDP6.3 client. This is the first time we've had to use this "newer" client version, utilizing the VSS backup and such. Since we started using this newer version of TDP our backups are running a LOT slower than they should, and definitely a LOT slower than they did on the v5.5 TDP client. Any thoughts? Anything we can do to the dsm.sys? Its becoming a serious issue in our environment as we're running out of enough hours in the day to get them backed up! thanks in advance! -Robert

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    52
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    We see a performance hit when the Exchange integrity check runs before the backup. Every third party backup vendor is suggested to run this check as it reads every page of the Exchange data store to insure data is good for a backup. You can skip this check with the /SKIPINTEGERITYCHECK option. This is not recomended by Microsoft.
    You may not be having the same issue but in general we see the actual backups (data flowing to the TSM server) running faster then with pervious versions.
    Currently our command for doing a backup looks like this:
    tdpexcc back DB022,DB043,DB064,DB085,DB121 full /EXCLUDEDAGACT /SKIPINTEGRITYCHECK /LOGF=c:\tsm\logs\%cdate%\%cdate%_TDPEXC.LOG

  3. #3
    Newcomer
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Following IBM's documentation, the option /SKIPINTEGRITYCHECK works only for COPY backup type not Full backup type.

    https://publib.boulder.ibm.com/infoc...2Fdpexc108.htm

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    52
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by simonpie View Post
    Following IBM's documentation, the option /SKIPINTEGRITYCHECK works only for COPY backup type not Full backup type.

    https://publib.boulder.ibm.com/infoc...2Fdpexc108.htm
    You are using the TDP version 5.5 options (referenced in you link). For TDP 6.3.x you can skip the integrity check in full backup mode.

  5. #5
    Newcomer
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Darn google which always bring me to obsolete pages for TSM. I cannot find the doc for 6.3, nor 6.4 which we have. But the doc for 7.1 seems to agree with you. Thanks, I will try it tonight anyway.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    81
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Default

    It's that damn ESEUTIL that Exchange uses. Microsoft will recommend skipping the integrity check as long as you have DAG's. You can also add the /PREFERDAGPASSIVE switch to exclude all passive copies.

  7. #7
    Newcomer
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Hi, we have the preferdagpassive switch. We tried the skipintegrety check switch but the backup still takes 9 hours for about 1.3 TB. Something is clearly wrong. Any idea what I could investigate ?

    Here is the command we run
    TDPEXCC BACKUP DB1,DB2,DB3 FULL /MINIMUMBACKUPINTERVAL=60 /PREFERDAGPASSIVE /SKIPINTEGRITYCHECK
    Here is the output of tdpexcc q tdp

    IBM Tivoli Storage Manager for Mail:
    Data Protection for Microsoft Exchange Server
    Version 6, Release 4, Level 0.0
    (C) Copyright IBM Corporation 1998, 2012. All rights reserved.

    Data Protection for Exchange Preferences
    ----------------------------------------

    BACKUPDESTination................... TSM
    BACKUPMETHod........................ VSS
    CLIENTAccessserver..................
    DAGNODe............................. MyDagNode
    DATEformat ......................... 3
    LANGuage ........................... ENU
    LOCALDSMAgentnode................... MyNodeName
    LOGFile ............................ c:\pathtologs\tdpexc.log
    LOGPrune ........................... 60
    MOUNTWait .......................... Yes
    NUMberformat ....................... 1
    REMOTEDSMAgentnode..................
    TEMPDBRestorepath...................
    TEMPLOGRestorepath..................
    TIMEformat ......................... 1
    IMPORTVSSSNAPSHOTSONLYWhenneeded.... No

    The operation completed successfully. (rc = 0)

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    81
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Default

    Well, the fact that this started happening when you installed 6.3 is strange. We moved from 6.1 to 6.4 and didn't encounter performance issues and didn't have to make any changes to our script or add any additional options. Have you opened a ticket with support?

    In the meantime, how many mount points have you allowed on the Exchange node, DAG node, and local dsmagent node? Also, what do you have as your RESOURCEUTILIZATION in the dsm.opt of the local dsmagent node?

  9. #9
    Newcomer
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BrianV View Post
    Well, the fact that this started happening when you installed 6.3 is strange. We moved from 6.1 to 6.4 and didn't encounter performance issues and didn't have to make any changes to our script or add any additional options. Have you opened a ticket with support?

    In the meantime, how many mount points have you allowed on the Exchange node, DAG node, and local dsmagent node? Also, what do you have as your RESOURCEUTILIZATION in the dsm.opt of the local dsmagent node?
    The problem did not happened when we installed 6.3. It just happened gradually as we started migrating exchange 2003 to 2010.
    We have nothing for resourceutilization, but I was planning trying a fairly high value tonight, probably 10 as this is a fairly powerful machine.

    The maximum mount point is 1, but we do our backup to disk and then destage to tape.

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    166
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Default

    Are you running your new Exchange servers within a clustered environment?

  11. #11
    Newcomer
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Its a DAG. I have tried the RessourceUtilisation parameter (value of 10). No change, still almost 10hours. Most parameters are set to default parameters.

    dsm.opt for baclients :

    NODENAME Node-name
    PASSWORDACCESS GENERATE
    TCPSERVERADDRESS Server-Name
    TCPCADADDRESS 10.99.212.210
    AUTODEPLOY NOREBOOT
    TCPCLIENTADDRESS DNS-name
    SCHEDMODE PROMPTED

    DATEFORMAT 3
    SCHEDLOGRETENTION 30
    SchedLogName some-path
    ErrorLogName some-path
    ErrorLogRetention 30
    RESOURCEUTILIZATION 10

    TCPPort 1500

    exclude.dir *:\some-directory
    dsm.opt for tdpe
    NODename EXCH-Node-Name
    PASSWORDAccess generate
    TCPServeraddress Server-Name
    TCPPort 1500
    HTTPport 1582
    and some basic server settings :

    tsm: Server-Name>q option max*

    Server Option Option Setting
    ------------------------- -----------------------------------
    MaxSessions 200

    tsm: Server-Name>q option res*

    Server Option Option Setting
    ------------------------- -----------------------------------
    RestoreInterval 1,440
    Resource Timeout 60

    tsm: Server-Name>q option tcp*

    Server Option Option Setting
    ----------------- --------------------
    TcpPort 1500
    TcpAdminport 1500
    TCPWindowsize 64512
    TCPNoDelay Yes
    There are way under 200 sessions most of the time. At peak hour, the server will receiver 750 GB per hour (for about one hour). Yet this backup will take around 10 hours for 625 GB.

Similar Threads

  1. TSM TDP for SAP & Oracle Slow backup speed ?
    By hungng89 in forum Performance Tuning
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-05-2011, 05:46 PM
  2. TDP for Oracle: backup speed is very slow
    By thangnd_iter in forum Oracle
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-20-2009, 04:30 AM
  3. Exchange TDP Backup Speed
    By Incremental Jon in forum Performance Tuning
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-17-2008, 03:00 PM
  4. TDP Exchange slow transfer speed?
    By BPeeters in forum TDP/Application Layer Backup
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-02-2006, 05:29 AM
  5. LAN (1Gb) transfer speed slow
    By cartman in forum TSM Server
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-21-2004, 02:05 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •