Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    108
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts

    Question Discard data =yes

    Hi,

    I have a volume which is damaged. Unfortunately that volume does not have a secondary copy.

    this volume contains only flat files backups .

    I figure there is only 1 way to recover the lost data which is querry the list of servers backed up in that tape and do a full backup on those mentioned list.

    My question is what if i Delete the volume with discard data=yes option will the lost data be backed up during the next incremental backup?

    I know this is a long shot I am just hoping against hope because list of the servers on that tape is huge.

    Regards,

    TSMDUMBER

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    switzerland
    Posts
    151
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Default

    hmm ... lost data is lost for sure ... what will happen during next incemental backup? the clients checks the last active version on the TSM-DB and all new and changed objects on the client will be backuped.
    deleted objects are marked as inactive.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    108
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts

    Default

    Thanks.

    in that case say a dll file which never modifies and hence there is only 1 version available.

    after i do the delet volume this file is no longer avilable in backups. Would this make the file eligible for next incremental?

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    108
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts

    Default

    in that case,

    say a dll file..... which never modifies and hence has only 1 version available.

    So after i do the delete volume this file is no longer available in backup.

    Would this make the file eligible for next incremental?

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    switzerland
    Posts
    151
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Default

    yes - if the file is still on the client filesystem

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to inestler For This Useful Post:

    tsmdumber (10-08-2012)

  7. #6
    Newcomer
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Hi guys,

    better approach would be do update the volume to destroyed. If a volume is destroyed and a backupjob find the damaged files (from this volume) o a client, i will automatically saved on a new volume. The file record on the damaged volume will be removed. Doing that way, you can still see the missing files. (if you want )

    greetings

  8. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    108
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts

    Default

    Thanks Olis!

    I opted for deleting data because i dont want the client to show a file which can not be restored!

    difficult to explain to the management and the admins! i am better off with a file not available in restore window rather having a file which can not be restored!

  9. #8
    Newcomer
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    I know... i know, that the reason for (if you want )

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-11-2008, 01:33 PM
  2. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 05-14-2008, 10:36 AM
  3. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-26-2007, 08:27 AM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-02-2006, 09:08 AM
  5. Migration / Move Data hangs when moving data from 3590 -> 3592 - 5.1.9.6
    By wallyblackburn in forum Backup / Archive Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-30-2005, 10:56 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •