Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Member briner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default unable to backup new FS in schedule mode

    Hello,

    We are not able to backup new FS when they get created!

    Let me show you the timeline:
    |
    |
    |-20:20 previous backup finished
    |
    |-20:21 few moment after the scheduler tell us that the next backup will happen
    | at 20:00 tomorrow
    |


    |-midnight


    |
    |-19:00 we destroy the FS which are mounted somewhere under /dolly/backup
    |-19:05 we create some new FS which are mounted somewhere under /dolly/backup
    |
    |-20:00 the scheduler starts and the FS newly mounted under
    | /dolly/backup are not backup at all. This is sad, because we are only
    | interested in this FS
    |
    |-20:05 the scheduler finished… and nothing get backup
    |
    |-20:06 few moment after the scheduler tell us that the next backup will happen
    | at 20:30 tomorrow
    |
    v

    What can be done. Is there a way to tell the scheduler to backup this file ?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Brno
    Posts
    119
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 19 Times in 18 Posts

    Default

    You need to restart TSM scheduler in order to reflect new changes in mounted filesystems.

  3. #3
    Member briner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    Thaks for the working response. But could you tell me if there is a way to do it in a dsmc commamd such as:
    dsmc init ?

  4. #4
    Senior Member domino's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    697
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts
    If Microsoft is the answer, I want my problem back!

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Brno
    Posts
    119
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 19 Times in 18 Posts

    Default

    you can simply "refresh" (only) scheduler using kill

    ps -ef|grep "dsmc sched"
    find the PID of process, ie 1234
    as root issue command:
    kill -HUP 1234

    But first make sure there is no scheduled action running.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    44
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    You can start your Scheduler via the TSM-Webclient. This will take care of FS-Changes automaticly.

Similar Threads

  1. Which TSM Schedule mode do you choose?
    By jackyzhang in forum TSM Client
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-29-2012, 06:35 AM
  2. How to run dsmc schedule in quite mode in AIX?
    By helmsdeep in forum TSM Client
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-04-2011, 05:04 AM
  3. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-14-2008, 01:18 PM
  4. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 09-07-2005, 10:19 AM
  5. Unable to schedule db backup in TSM 5.3
    By chalam in forum Disaster Recovery Module
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-26-2005, 08:47 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •