Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    306
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default rename BA client node

    Hi all,

    I want to rename a BA client node name with "rename node " command as there is a conflict because currently both BA client and TDPO client on this physical linux server are same.

    I want to rename BA client node_name from linux1.test.com to linux1 as below
    Code:
    rename node linux1.test.com linux1
    what happens to already backed up files with old name for this BA client ?
    will they be OK and can be restored in future?
    Are there anymore steps to follow ?

    Thanks in advance!

  2. #2
    Senior Member domino's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    704
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 24 Times in 22 Posts

    Default

    If you are rename node from linux1.test.com to linux1, it is recommended that you use the UPDATE NODE command to change the password.
    Afterwards issue a "dsmc q se" command and when prompted give the new password, this will store the new password in TSM.PWD
    If Microsoft is the answer, I want my problem back!

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    306
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Thank you Domino,

    So there won't be any harm to previous backups right ?

    and also one more thing,

    both BA client and TDPO client on the same linux server and on TSM server when i do q node node_name f=d
    both nodes are having same TCP/IP name and TCP/IP address; this is OK as both are on same linux server and so no need to change anything, is this right ?
    Last edited by unixandtsm; 10-03-2012 at 11:06 AM.

  4. #4
    Senior Member domino's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    704
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 24 Times in 22 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by unixandtsm View Post
    ... both nodes are having same TCP/IP name and TCP/IP address; this is OK as both are on same linux server and so no need to change anything, is this right ?
    Yes, thats ok, see example below

    Code:
    Hostname             Client Version         Ver.       Rel.      Lev.      Fix        Nodename                              TCP_Name               TCPIP_Adress
    ----------------     ------------------     ------     ------    ------    ------     ------------------------------        -------------------    -----------------
    ldeberdb03           2.6.16.60              6          2         2         6          CLINDB03_R_0014_C                     ldeberdb03             192.168.218.203
    ldeberdb03           2.6.16.60              6          2         2         6          CLINDB03_R_0040_C                     ldeberdb03             192.168.218.203
    ldeberdb03           2.6.16.60              6          2         2         6          CLINDB03_R_0400_C                     ldeberdb03             192.168.218.203
    ldeberdb03           2.6.16.60              6          2         2         6          CLINDB03_R_4000_C                     ldeberdb03             192.168.218.203
    ldeberdb03           2.6.16.60              6          2         2         6          CSAPHR01_V_0005_C                     ldeberdb03             192.168.218.203
    ldeberdb03           2.6.16.60              6          2         2         6          CSAPHR02_V_0005_C                     ldeberdb03             192.168.218.203

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    306
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Thanks Domino,

    I renamed the node from linux1.test.com to linux1 and then update the password for the node.
    But when i try to connect to to server from client by "dsmc", it is taking the default userid as old name and if i proceed with that id then i am getting following error

    Code:
    ANS1353E Session rejected: Unknown or incorrect ID entered
    I even tried to use the new name but still getting the same above error.

    Code:
    $ dsmc
    ANS1677W The MAILPROG option is ignored because it is no longer supported.
    IBM Tivoli Storage Manager
    Command Line Backup/Archive Client Interface
      Client Version 5, Release 5, Level 1.0
      Client date/time: 10/11/2012 13:31:58
    (c) Copyright by IBM Corporation and other(s) 1990, 2008. All Rights Reserved.
    
    Node Name: LINUX1.TEST.COM
    Please enter your user id <LINUX1.TEST.COM>: LINUX1
    
    ANS1353E Session rejected: Unknown or incorrect ID entered
    
    $ dsmc
    ANS1677W The MAILPROG option is ignored because it is no longer supported.
    IBM Tivoli Storage Manager
    Command Line Backup/Archive Client Interface
      Client Version 5, Release 5, Level 1.0
      Client date/time: 10/11/2012 13:32:24
    (c) Copyright by IBM Corporation and other(s) 1990, 2008. All Rights Reserved.
    
    Node Name: LINUX1.TEST.COM
    Please enter your user id <LINUX1.TEST.COM>:
    
    ANS1353E Session rejected: Unknown or incorrect ID entered
    and on TSM server's actlog
    Code:
    ANR0422W Session 87261 for node LINUX1.TEST.COM(Linux86) refused - node name not registered. (SESSION:87261)
    Please help with this.
    Thanks!
    Last edited by unixandtsm; 10-11-2012 at 02:25 PM.

  6. #6
    Moderator Harry_Redl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Czech Republic
    Posts
    2,231
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 100 Times in 99 Posts

    Default

    Hi,

    seems that in your dsm.sys file on the client there is following line there:
    NODENAME linux1.test.com

    update the file and start the client again. Do not forget to restart any scheduler/CAD you are running.

    Harry

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    306
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Hi Harry,

    I updated the nodename in dsm.sys file in client and then renamed and updated password in TSM server.
    Below is the stanza for this BA client in dsm.sys
    Code:
    SErvername tsm1
    SCHEDLOGRETENTION 10 D
    EXCLUDE.FILE "/var"
    PASSWORDACCESS GENERATE
    NODENAME linux1
       COMMmethod         TCPip
       TCPPort            1500
       TCPServeraddress   tsm1.test.com
    but there is another stanza for TDPO client also and is as below

    Code:
    SErvername  tsm1-Oracle
    PASSWORDACCESS PROMPT
    QUERYSCHEDPERIOD 12
    NODENAME linux1.test.com
       COMMmethod         TCPip
       TCPPort            1500
       TCPServeraddress   tsm1.test.com
    but TDPO stanza should not have any impact on this right ?

    below is the dsm.opt file

    Code:
    SErvername  tsm1-Oracle
    SErvername  tsm1
    DOMAIN "/"
    DOMAIN "/etc/svc/volatile"
    DOMAIN "/var"
    DOMAIN "/var/run"
    DOMAIN ALL-LOCAL

    Does TDPO node need to have it's entry in dsm.opt file ?

  8. #8
    Moderator Harry_Redl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Czech Republic
    Posts
    2,231
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 100 Times in 99 Posts

    Default

    Hi,

    when you start the TSM client it looks for the dsm.opt, looks for "servername XYZ" stanza and then selects this stanza from the dsm.sys (dsm.opt file does not need to contain anything else than "servername" stanza)
    Your dsm.opt is weird as it has two "servername" stanzas. TSM uses the last stanza in this case so it should work.

    Can you show us complete content of these files? As the client complains about "ANS1677W The MAILPROG option is ignored because it is no longer supported." and I do not see such option in your files.
    So it seems TSM uses other dsm.opt than we are looking at right now. Its location is determined by the DSMI_CONFIG variable ... is it set?

    Harry

Similar Threads

  1. preserving subset of exchange backups- to rename or not to rename
    By dlemieux33 in forum Backup / Archive Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-09-2009, 11:12 AM
  2. Remove / Rename TSM node client
    By mysyoul in forum TSM Client
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-28-2007, 08:48 PM
  3. Rename Windows Client
    By Saurier in forum TSM Client
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-08-2006, 09:34 AM
  4. move archived or backuped client node data to an other client node
    By cabonga in forum Backup / Archive Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-19-2005, 08:15 AM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-13-2004, 10:11 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •