Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Tcp/ip problem

  1. #1
    Newcomer
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Tcp/ip problem

    Hi
    I'm trying to install TSM server and I stuck in one moment.
    When I want to configure it I have an erorr "Failed to comunicate with server using following parameters" and my tcpserveraddress is the same as hostname. I edited dsmserv.opt, dsm.opt but it doesn't works and I can't change server ip address.
    How can I do it?

    Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    switzerland
    Posts
    151
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Default

    did you try from the server cmdline: SET SERVERHLADDRESS and SET SERVERLLADDRESS

  3. #3
    Senior Member domino's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    703
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 24 Times in 22 Posts

    Default

    try: telnet <tcpserveraddress> <port>

    e.g. telnet tsm01.domain.com1500
    If Microsoft is the answer, I want my problem back!

  4. #4
    Newcomer
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Through cmd I have an errors:
    - ANS1017E Session rejected tcp/ip connection failure
    - ANS8023E Unable to establish session with server
    - ANS8002I Highest return code was -50

    Server is up and running

  5. #5
    Moderator moon-buddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Somewhere in the US
    Posts
    5,923
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 233 Times in 228 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by zwierzu85 View Post
    Through cmd I have an errors:
    - ANS1017E Session rejected tcp/ip connection failure
    - ANS8023E Unable to establish session with server
    - ANS8002I Highest return code was -50

    Server is up and running
    Is this the first time you brought up the TSM server - meaning after installation?

    Option 1:

    If this is, stop the server (forcefully since you have not way of logging into it), and restart in the foreground. This should bring up the TSM server in console mode. You now can setup the admin account and password properly, and change whatever you need to.

    Option 2: (if this has been running before)

    Try on the server itself:

    - go to the directory where dsmadmc resides
    - DOS session: dsmadmc /tcpserveraddress=<IP_of_TSM_server> /id=admin /pa=password

    You should be able to login and change whatever you want.
    Last edited by moon-buddy; 10-02-2012 at 12:43 PM.
    Ed

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    San Nicolas de los Garza NL
    Posts
    188
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts

    Default

    try with run dsmc to check whether the node password is correct, else change the password to admin and node and try again =)


    best regards
    Francisco Parrilla
    IBM Certified Deployment Professional
    IBM Certified Technical Sales Specialist

Similar Threads

  1. TCP/IP communication
    By tsmlover in forum Networking
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-16-2008, 10:00 AM
  2. problem with TCP/IP please assist
    By zoran1 in forum Others
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-10-2005, 03:32 PM
  3. TCP/IP problem please assist
    By zoran1 in forum Backup / Archive Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-05-2005, 10:13 AM
  4. tcp ip errors
    By cartman in forum Backup / Archive Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-07-2003, 06:54 PM
  5. TCP connection
    By jmerette in forum TSM Server
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-27-2003, 04:51 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •