Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    208
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Windows cluster and client passwords

    Hi all,

    I have a Win 2008 active/passive cluster which seems to forget its TSM client password any time the cluster fails over. The password hasn't changed, and I don't believe it has expired. Yet every time this cluster fails over, I have to go back onto the active node are re-register the client. Why would this happen?

    I have passwordaccess set to "generate" in the shared dsm.opt file.

    Sincere thanks
    C.J.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    208
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    I should also have mentioned that I have "clusternode yes" set in the dsm.opt file for this cluster node.

  3. #3
    Moderator moon-buddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Somewhere in the US
    Posts
    5,935
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 233 Times in 228 Posts

    Default

    Where is the cluster dsm.opt located? Have you defined the cluster resources on the shared environment?

    When I create a clustered TSM environment, I place the cluster dsm.opt file on the Quorum ( Q: ) drive and set the passexp=0 for the cluster node (this is not the BA client nodes). The cluster TSM password are then set on both nodes during initial setup - failing from one node to another.
    Last edited by moon-buddy; 10-26-2012 at 09:16 PM.
    Ed

  4. #4
    Newcomer
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    You should place the opt file on the resource disk that fails over and have the service resource set the manual on each node.

  5. #5
    Senior Member Trident's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    272
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts

    Default

    Hi,

    Check the cluster TSM process, and see if you replicate the registry key containing the password. It is typically located in this location:

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\IBM\ADSM\CurrentVersio n\Nodes\TSM-VE01_VMWARE\TSM09
    -= Trident =-

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    TSM World
    Posts
    34
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    Hi C.J.
    Try the following

    On Node 01

    Setup the cluster options file/logs etc to all point on the storage drive that will fail over. I would not use the Quorum. Stick with the data drive something like tsm.clusternode_name

    Once setup launch TSM, and make sure you authenticate with the TSM server.
    Add the TSM service. Use something like this

    "C:\Program Files\Tivoli\TSM\baclient\dsmcutil" install /name:"TSM Schedule Service -clusternode_name" /node:%NODE% /password:PASSWORD /clientdir:"C:\Program Files\Tivoli\TSM\baclient" /optfile:"v:\tsm.clusternode_name\dsm.opt" /validate:no /autostart:no /startnow:no


    "C:\Program Files\Tivoli\TSM\baclient\dsmcutil" install CAD /name:"TSM Client Acceptor -clusternode_name /password:PASSWORD /CADSCHedname:"TSM Schedule Service -clusternode_name" /clientdir:"C:\Program Files\Tivoli\TSM\baclient" /optfile:"v:\tsm.clusternode_name\dsm.opt" /validate:no /autostart:yes /startnow:no /node:%NODE%

    One the service is setup on Node 01, add it to the Microsoft Cluster.
    Simply add a resource, add the newly created service account.

    Make sure to verify the failover policies. Generally it is a bad idea to have this resource fail over the nodes if it stops.
    Under Reg key, input the following SOFTWARE\IBM\ADSM\CurrentVersion\Nodes\clusternode _name

    Start the service, check the logs. if all looks good, let start on the next part.

    TURN off the service.

    Node 02

    Failover everything to node 02

    Use the same process as above to add the service accounts.

    Start the service from within the cluster only. This will copy over the replicated REG key from above that contains the password from node 01. Check the logs to verify.

    Good luck,
    Odysseus


    FYI.

    As a preference, I use the CAD service to call the Scheduler service. So when setting up the cluster, you would only need to add the CAD service.

    In your dsm.opt options files you will also need to add

    MANAGEDSERVICES WEBCLIENT SCHEDULE

Similar Threads

  1. client on windows cluster
    By jbautista in forum Backup / Archive Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-14-2009, 11:30 AM
  2. Client Passwords - forcep=yes
    By SANdmann in forum TSM Client
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-21-2009, 02:40 PM
  3. Client - Windows Cluster & TSM Web Client
    By GregE in forum Restore / Recovery Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-01-2008, 09:53 AM
  4. TSM client passwords
    By tsm_noob_01 in forum TSM Installation, Upgrade and Configuration
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-05-2007, 01:52 PM
  5. Windows client and passwords
    By staham in forum TSM Client
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-02-2007, 09:09 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •