Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    81
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Question TSM + Data Domain Pool Replication

    We have two Data Domain's configured as VTL's in two separate locations and are about to implement bi-directional replication. We currently use the Data Domain as the primary storage pool and then backup the storage pools to physical tape (not migration).

    Both VTL's only have 1 large tape pool (setup by EMC) and I was told that we need to break up the large pool into multiple smaller pools.

    Does anyone else use TSM with Data Domain to replicate data offsite? How is your environment configured?

    I would love to read real-life scenarios rather than what EMC states on paper.

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Moderator moon-buddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Somewhere in the US
    Posts
    5,903
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 231 Times in 226 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BrianV View Post
    We have two Data Domain's configured as VTL's in two separate locations and are about to implement bi-directional replication. We currently use the Data Domain as the primary storage pool and then backup the storage pools to physical tape (not migration).

    Both VTL's only have 1 large tape pool (setup by EMC) and I was told that we need to break up the large pool into multiple smaller pools.

    Does anyone else use TSM with Data Domain to replicate data offsite? How is your environment configured?

    I would love to read real-life scenarios rather than what EMC states on paper.

    Thanks!
    I use DD and what they say is correct - break it up.
    Ed

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    81
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by moon-buddy View Post
    I use DD and what they say is correct - break it up.
    Are there any major changes that you made to TSM other than where the database is backed up to? I.E. storage pool configurations, device class, etc.

    I read that the TSM DB should be backed up to a FILE devclass.

  4. #4
    Moderator moon-buddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Somewhere in the US
    Posts
    5,903
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 231 Times in 226 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BrianV View Post
    Are there any major changes that you made to TSM other than where the database is backed up to? I.E. storage pool configurations, device class, etc.

    I read that the TSM DB should be backed up to a FILE devclass.
    No major changes. The TSM DB, if you truly want replicated environments, should be backed up with devclass=file as you have mentioned. This facilitates DR and, as mentioned, replication.
    Ed

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    81
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by moon-buddy View Post
    No major changes. The TSM DB, if you truly want replicated environments, should be backed up with devclass=file as you have mentioned. This facilitates DR and, as mentioned, replication.
    Excellent.

    What's the maximum capacity and mount limit recommendation for the FILE devclass to backup the the TSM database? Our DB is roughyl 70 GB.

  6. #6
    Moderator moon-buddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Somewhere in the US
    Posts
    5,903
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 231 Times in 226 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BrianV View Post
    Excellent.

    What's the maximum capacity and mount limit recommendation for the FILE devclass to backup the the TSM database? Our DB is roughyl 70 GB.
    You can set it in 2 GB increments up to the maximum of the target directory. I have mine at 4 GB and mount limit set to 10. See 'help define devclass' and look for type=file.
    Ed

Similar Threads

  1. data domain replication - bandwidth requirements
    By lapfrank in forum EMC Data Domain
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-17-2012, 01:44 PM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-20-2012, 08:49 AM
  3. tsm and data domain replication
    By gfester in forum Capacity Planning
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-17-2011, 06:04 PM
  4. Data Domain and TSM
    By mangle in forum TSM Server
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 08-18-2010, 05:37 PM
  5. DR via replication rather than copy pool?
    By Jeff_Jeske in forum Disaster Recovery Module
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-09-2010, 05:16 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •