Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default Migrated TSM Server to New Domain - PROBLEMS

    Hi All,

    Hopefully can get some quick responses and information this perhaps. We performed a migration of our TSM Server from one domain to another this morning, and worked our way through an issue of the TSM Server service not starting up via the following

    http://www-01.ibm.com/support/docvie...id=swg21497342

    However, we are not able to connect our TSM command line administration client. We get to the login, enter an id and it hangs and nothing we are finding is helping any. The same issue exists with this from either our PC's or the TSM server itself, and also the portal does not seem to get a session going with the server either.

    Anything greatly appreciated.

    Thanks,
    DaJ

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    PS: We have moved it back and still now having the same problem, not sure why.........

    DaJ

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    try to run the server background mode, if its worked, we will fix this problem.

    Thanks
    Krish
    http://www.tsmguide.co.cc

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    How exactly does one do that, will do some research now but you seem to know something we can do with it in background mode to get this issue fixed? I am not trained as a TSM administrator, only what we have picked up in supporting since our previous admin (who was also not formally trained) left the company.

    Thanks,
    DaJ

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    to check the background mode, first you have to go to installation path..

    Step1:

    From Windows cmd(Windows command line), Change to C:\program files\Tivoli\tsm\server or TSM installed path

    Step2:

    Start the server by entering:

    dsmserv


    Check this and let me know the status, TSM is starting or thronging any error.


    Thanks
    Krish
    http://www.tsmguide.co.cc

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to meurnt For This Useful Post:

    DaJuRan (09-18-2012)

  7. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    Thanks Meurnt, much appreciated. It did start up without issue, as it had been even through the services only we couldn't connect. I was able to connect a command line console with dsmserv running however and was able to do some cleanup and run a dbbackup to clean a log issue we were having and looks like we are good for now.

    DaJ

Similar Threads

  1. TSM server joined AD domain, stopped working
    By FloydATC in forum TSM Installation, Upgrade and Configuration
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-07-2010, 11:08 AM
  2. Issues in adding TSM Server (W2K3) to Domain
    By Saran in forum TSM Operation
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-12-2010, 06:25 AM
  3. just installes a new tsm server in my domain, need for help.
    By Dunul in forum TSM Installation, Upgrade and Configuration
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-13-2010, 07:25 PM
  4. Nodes migrated to different domain - ANR0830W
    By matejo in forum Backup / Archive Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-09-2009, 06:38 AM
  5. successfully migrated TSM
    By bisaal46 in forum TSM Server
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-09-2008, 01:26 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •