Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Noob
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Dallas
    Posts
    46
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default how to start TSM client scheduler in linux

    I have installed and configured TSM client on linux.

    I am trying to schedule backups of few file systems, In this process i am trying to restart tsm client scheduler and set it to automatic like we do in windows.

    Can some one guide me with the procedure do do it.


    Thank You!

  2. #2
    Noob
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Dallas
    Posts
    46
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    I know that i have to an entry in the inittab file, but can someone help me what should i add in that file

  3. #3
    Senior Member Trident's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    272
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts

    Default

    Put this in /etc/init.d/tsm




    Code:
    #! /bin/bash
    #
    # tsm      starts and stops Tivoli Storage Manager Client
    #
    # chkconfig: 2345 99 00
    # description: Starts and stops Tivoli Storage Manager Client 
    #
    # config: /opt/tivoli/tsm/client/ba/bin/dsm.sys
    # processname: dsmc
    
    
    # Source function library.
    . /etc/init.d/functions
    
    # See how we were called.
    prog="tsm"
    
    # Define environment variables
    PATH=$PATH:/opt/tivoli/tsm/client/ba/bin
    LANG="en_US"
    LOCK="/var/lock/subsys/$prog"
    PID="/var/run/$prog.pid"
    export LANG
    
    start () {
        echo -n $"Starting $prog: "
        dsmc schedule > /dev/null 2>&1 &
        pgrep dsmc > $PID && success
        RETVAL=$?
        echo
        [ $RETVAL -eq 0 ] && touch $LOCK
        return $RETVAL
    }
    
    stop () {
        echo -n $"Stopping $prog: "
        killproc dsmc
        RETVAL=$?
        echo
        [ $RETVAL -eq 0 ] && rm -f $LOCK
        [ $RETVAL -eq 0 ] && rm -f $PID
        return $RETVAL
    }
    
    rhstatus() {
            status dsmc
    }
    
    
    restart() {
            stop
            start
    }
    
    case "$1" in
      start)
            start
            ;;
      stop)
            stop
            ;;
      restart)
            restart
            ;;
      status)
            rhstatus
            ;;
      *)
            echo $"Usage: $0 {start|stop|status|restart}"
            exit 1
    esac
    
    exit $?


    Run
    Code:
    chmod 755 /etc/init.d/tsm
    chkconfig --add tsm
    chkconfig --level 345 tsm on
    Last edited by Trident; 08-28-2012 at 02:10 PM. Reason: Fixing bugs
    -= Trident =-

  4. #4
    Senior Member domino's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    704
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 24 Times in 22 Posts
    If Microsoft is the answer, I want my problem back!

  5. #5
    Noob
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Dallas
    Posts
    46
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    I am looking to backup /opt, /prod, /www ........ directories/filesystems and i made these entry on dsm.opt file. Is this right ?


    SERVERNAME CREDIT04
    DOMAIN "/opt"
    DOMAIN "/prod"
    DOMAIN "/www"
    DOMAIN "/home/pmtplus"
    DOMAIN "/etc/syslog.conf"
    DOMAIN "/etc/hosts"
    DOMAIN "/etc/services"

  6. #6
    Moderator moon-buddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Somewhere in the US
    Posts
    5,924
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 233 Times in 228 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tsmtsm View Post
    I am looking to backup /opt, /prod, /www ........ directories/filesystems and i made these entry on dsm.opt file. Is this right ?


    SERVERNAME CREDIT04
    DOMAIN "/opt"
    DOMAIN "/prod"
    DOMAIN "/www"
    DOMAIN "/home/pmtplus"
    DOMAIN "/etc/syslog.conf"
    DOMAIN "/etc/hosts"
    DOMAIN "/etc/services"
    This works in conjunction with dsm.sys - remember that the dsm.sys is the main BA client configuration file in Linux/UNIX/AIX.

    Alternatively, you can have an include/exclude file called from dsm.sys.
    Ed

Similar Threads

  1. can't start scheduler on windows client
    By kaelo in forum TSM Client
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 06-28-2010, 12:29 PM
  2. Scheduler not coming up after Reboot in REd Had Linux TSM Client
    By tsmnovice in forum Backup / Archive Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-18-2009, 11:37 PM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-27-2008, 12:31 PM
  4. how to start scheduler and web client on linux
    By AlanAyala in forum Web GUI
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-09-2007, 02:02 AM
  5. how to start tsm client scheduler on aix?
    By martins in forum TSM Client
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-25-2005, 05:19 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •