Results 1 to 2 of 2

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Newcomer
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Providence, RI, USA
    Posts
    46
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default data domain replication - bandwidth requirements

    Hi All,

    I've been used to working with TSM and ProtecTIER, but now I have a client with EMC Networker and datadomain, which I'm just starting to learn. I've been tasked with implementing a second data domain appliance at a DR site and start replication.

    I was wondering if it's a safe bet to take the "post-comp" number in the daily written tab in enterprise manager and kind of use that as the amount of gb/day that would be actually replicated ?
    As a really rough number, I've just averaged that number of gigabytes for the last 4 months and used that as a starting point.

    Would that be fair ?

    THanks!

    Frank.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    82
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Default

    I would say yes - that is a good method to go by if you're trying to judge the daily amount of data replicated. Don't forget that the initial seeding process is going to be the total amount of data on your Data Domain so plan storage on the target accordingly.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-20-2012, 08:49 AM
  2. tsm and data domain replication
    By gfester in forum Capacity Planning
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-17-2011, 06:04 PM
  3. Replication Requirements
    By GregE in forum TSM Server
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 06-14-2010, 10:51 AM
  4. How to limit bandwidth?
    By datorexpert in forum TSM Server
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-11-2009, 10:50 AM
  5. How much bandwidth?
    By mj1980 in forum Performance Tuning
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-06-2004, 08:49 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •