Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Senior Member DanGiles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Ont. Canada
    Posts
    548
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default TSM and PowerHA (HACMP)

    We will soon be implementing TSM on AIX with PowerHA. The environment will consistest of two servers - one library manager and one client - plus a number of LAN-free clients. There is not much out there in terms of documentation, and I am mostly concerned with what happens to drives and tapes that are in use during a fail-over.

    I went through the redbook for TSM 5.5 & HACMP, and it looks like TSM should clean itself up on start-up. The problem is that I've seldom experienced this 'clean-up' in real life! There's usually a lot of manual reseting of drives and volumes after a non-graceful shut-down.

    So, anyone using this configuration in real life? Any caveats or recommendations?
    Daniel R. Giles
    Sileg Consulting Inc.
    416.402.9744 dan.giles@sileg.com
    http://www.linkedin.com/in/sileg

  2. #2
    Moderator moon-buddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Somewhere in the US
    Posts
    5,894
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 230 Times in 225 Posts

    Default

    Sorry Dan,

    I have no experience with HACMP deployment of TSM.

    But, if all that is adverstised is true, device fail-over should be 'automatic' with AIX. The reason I am saying this is the fact that IBM's DS8000 series SAN arrays uses AIX boxes to control the disk arrays. Failover works almost magically.

    If you apply the same logic to a HACMP-defined TSM environment, the device is really under the control of the 'virtual' cluster environment which TSM sees. Therefore, TSM does NOT care which node holds the devices. It just interfaces with the 'virtual' machine.
    Ed

  3. #3
    Senior Member DanGiles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Ont. Canada
    Posts
    548
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    I have no concern over the actual transferance of resources between machines. My concerns refer to my other post: what happens on fail-over when drives are in use? Will TSM actually clean up the library (unload drives, move cartridges) when it restarts?
    Daniel R. Giles
    Sileg Consulting Inc.
    416.402.9744 dan.giles@sileg.com
    http://www.linkedin.com/in/sileg

  4. #4
    Moderator moon-buddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Somewhere in the US
    Posts
    5,894
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 230 Times in 225 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DanGiles View Post
    I have no concern over the actual transferance of resources between machines. My concerns refer to my other post: what happens on fail-over when drives are in use? Will TSM actually clean up the library (unload drives, move cartridges) when it restarts?
    I believe the answer is 'it will stay as is and keep on running'.

    In HACMP settings, it is mandatory to have two fiber paths for the devices - one path to each node. This then takes care of the failover. Likewise, the library should have two paths - one for each node.

    The switch over is handled by the virtual environment.

    It is also my understanding that the devices is presented to TSM using its virtual device name and not using its real physical name/s.
    Last edited by moon-buddy; 08-01-2012 at 03:11 PM.
    Ed

  5. #5
    Senior Member DanGiles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Ont. Canada
    Posts
    548
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    As I said, transfering resources is not my concern: it's transfering resources that are not in their default state that's the concern!
    Daniel R. Giles
    Sileg Consulting Inc.
    416.402.9744 dan.giles@sileg.com
    http://www.linkedin.com/in/sileg

  6. #6
    Moderator moon-buddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Somewhere in the US
    Posts
    5,894
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 230 Times in 225 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DanGiles View Post
    As I said, transfering resources is not my concern: it's transfering resources that are not in their default state that's the concern!
    This is what I mean.

    If the cluster is true to its form, TSM would not care where the resource is: whether default or not, and whether it falls back to default or not. As far as TSM goes, it still thinks there is nothing that happened behind the scene since the virtual environment presents it consistently. Thus, things will keep on running.
    Ed

  7. #7
    Senior Member DanGiles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Ont. Canada
    Posts
    548
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    Nyet. Forget about HA for now. A client is backing up to a tape drive on the TSM server. The server goes down un-gracefully, leaving the tape in the drive. TSM comes back up and the client re-connects to finish its backup. What happens? Does the TSM remember its state when it went down a give the drive and cartridge back to the client, or does TSM goes "okay, you'll want this tape. Wait, the tape isn't in it's right element - I'll give you a new one and load it into this drive. Wait, there's a cartridge in there that shouldn't be - spit out an error!"

    According to the TSM/HA redbook, it does the former (more or less). According to experience, it does the latter.
    Daniel R. Giles
    Sileg Consulting Inc.
    416.402.9744 dan.giles@sileg.com
    http://www.linkedin.com/in/sileg

  8. #8
    Moderator moon-buddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Somewhere in the US
    Posts
    5,894
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 230 Times in 225 Posts

    Default

    I see your point from the get go.

    The latter statement is true for standalone systems; and I won't argue with you on that since that has and always been my experience.

    However, you introduced the HACMP picture. In all my work with clusters - not with TSM in particular - the well setup ones behave properly as advertised; and the app chugs along well. Thus, I am convienced that the former scenario will be true. TSM (as an application sitting on top of the HACMP environment) will pickup where it left-off after a failover occured.

    A power lost is another issue
    Ed

  9. #9
    Senior Member DanGiles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Ont. Canada
    Posts
    548
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    I guess this is one of those "I'll believe it when I see it" scenarios. I'll probably set up a string of tests, but if the first two actually work as advertised, I'll save myself a lot of time and trust them. ;p

    These servers are in major data centres, so we don't have to worry about power failures XO <tongue planted firmly in cheek>
    Daniel R. Giles
    Sileg Consulting Inc.
    416.402.9744 dan.giles@sileg.com
    http://www.linkedin.com/in/sileg

Similar Threads

  1. TSM 6.1 and 2 instances in HACMP
    By selac in forum TSM Server
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-26-2011, 11:40 AM
  2. HACMP for TSM Library Manager
    By rowl in forum TSM Server
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-30-2009, 03:39 PM
  3. TSM in cluster environment( HACMP)..help
    By khurram in forum TSM Installation, Upgrade and Configuration
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-17-2008, 04:42 PM
  4. TSM in HACMP
    By sus in forum Disaster Recovery Module
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-13-2008, 10:12 AM
  5. TSM BA client + HACMP 5.2
    By flex in forum Backup / Archive Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-14-2006, 08:12 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •