Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Cluster

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    198
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Cluster

    On the cluster setup I can schedule a backup to run during the day and it will start during the day as a test. change the sched to start at 8pm it fails ?? Looking thru the log I get ANR2716E. showing the cluster name but the address is the local host? Testing now using TCPCLientaddress in the opt file. Any suggestions ?

  2. #2
    Moderator moon-buddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Somewhere in the US
    Posts
    5,967
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 235 Times in 230 Posts

    Default

    Just checking: when you change the time to 8 PM, did you use 20:00, and restarted the scheduler?

    Of course it will point to the local host that holds the cluster for its backup.
    Ed

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    198
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    i used 20:00, should the node name (cluseter) match it's IP ? the node name in the tsm log dns matches the local host it resides on

  4. #4
    Moderator moon-buddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Somewhere in the US
    Posts
    5,967
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 235 Times in 230 Posts

    Default

    This is Windows cluster, right?

    The way I configure Windows cluster for TSM backup is to use the virtual name of the cluster and its assigned IP address. The OPT file for the cluster would say that it is a cluster.

    The TSM scheduler, CAD and Remote Client acceptor services are all defined under the MS Cluster resources.

    Thus, when a backup starts, TSM actually looks at the node that 'has control' of the cluster to do the shared disk/s backup.

    The backup for the nodes are separate services.
    Ed

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    198
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Yes, it's a window cluster. I got it to work. had to change sched mode from prompted to polling. At least that seems to work

  6. #6
    Moderator moon-buddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Somewhere in the US
    Posts
    5,967
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 235 Times in 230 Posts

    Default

    If this is the case, then there is a misconfiguration on the DNS (no reverse lookup) or router. Technically, if you are on the same network, prompted or polling should both work.
    Ed

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    81
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Default

    Are you guys doing anything special to make the custered resource services dependent on other services or are they stand alone?

    I have NODE0 = Cluster Node with dsm.opt and log files on the cluster resource and with separte scheduler defined.
    I have NODES 1/2 configured to backup only the local disks and they have their own schedulers.

    The problem I am seeing is every once in awhile NODE0's cad will not start after the cluster fails over. Any tips or tricks?

Similar Threads

  1. Windows 2008 Cluster Backup - Cluster Group Not Listed
    By dazza918 in forum Backup / Archive Discussion
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 05-21-2012, 03:21 PM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-01-2011, 04:15 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-01-2010, 05:21 AM
  4. Cluster Notification from xxxxxxx (REBOOT (CLUSTER TAKEOVER)) WARNING
    By karinegh in forum SAN Technical Discussion
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 04-08-2008, 03:47 PM
  5. BAckup DB2 cluster &was cluster
    By ma7moudshaf3y in forum Backup / Archive Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-08-2008, 12:49 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •