Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Newcomer
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Checkin volume problem after library change

    Hi.
    We had to exchange our ibm library (8 slots, scsi, lto3, all tapes without barcodes).
    As we have only hw support, they changed to same model and added library to tsm.

    Could somebody explain, how to checkin lto3 volumes in tape storage pool without bacodes? How does checkin libvol identifies tapes? Old information on tapes aren`t needed, so all can be scratch.

    Also Media Labeling wizard shows status error. What does it stands for?
    tnx!
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Senior Member domino's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    714
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 24 Times in 22 Posts
    If Microsoft is the answer, I want my problem back!

  3. #3
    Newcomer
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    You can label tapes using the following command,

    label libvol <library name> search=bulk labelsource=prompt checkin=scratch
    q req
    reply <request number > label=<label name>

    That's how I label tapes using IO station.( without the barcode)

    Good luck !

    Nalin

  4. #4
    Senior Member domino's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    714
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 24 Times in 22 Posts

    Default

    To use the LABEL LIBVOLUME command, there must be a drive that is not in state "unknown"
    If Microsoft is the answer, I want my problem back!

  5. #5
    Newcomer
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Domino you are right But I was answerign the question 'how to checkin lto3 volumes in tape storage pool without bacodes? How does checkin libvol identifies tapes? Old information on tapes aren`t needed, so all can be scratch.' , anyway in this case can we use Dlist command the identify the element numbers ? ( when defining the path ? ) - question for domino

  6. #6
    Senior Member domino's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    714
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 24 Times in 22 Posts

    Default

    example (8 Tapes in bulk)
    LABEL LIBV <library_name> search=bulk labelsource=vollist volrange=000001,000008 checkin=scr overwrite=yes

    or (all Tapes in libr)
    LABEL LIBV <library_name> search=yes labelsource=vollist volrange=<first_tape>,<last_tape> checkin=scr overwrite=yes
    If Microsoft is the answer, I want my problem back!

Similar Threads

  1. Last tape volume number checkin
    By khawts in forum Tape / Media Library
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-10-2013, 12:56 AM
  2. Unable to checkin volume
    By ears in forum Restore / Recovery Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-24-2010, 05:11 PM
  3. volume checkin error
    By bisaal46 in forum TSM Server
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-07-2009, 12:47 PM
  4. tape checkin out of volume range
    By tsmuser10 in forum Tape / Media Library
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-14-2008, 12:07 AM
  5. checkin volume failed
    By tptceo in forum Tape / Media Library
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-19-2007, 12:43 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •