Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    BeiJing, China
    Posts
    47
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default Discussion about TSM nodenames in TSM for VE

    As I read the TSM for VE deployment guide, there are some TSM nodename.

    1. datamover node
    2. datacenter node
    3. vcenter node
    4. vmcli node

    Shall I only use one nodename instead of four nodenames?
    Are these nodenames a must in TSM VE deployment procedure?

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    103
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

    Default

    Yes some of these nodes are a must depends on your setup. When you want to use DP for VMware vCenter Plug-In it is highly recommend to setup nodes as described. The plugin uses the grant/proxy relationships on TSM to determine data mover nodes etc.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    BeiJing, China
    Posts
    47
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    Which one of the following is recommended?

    (1)One datamover node for one ESX server?
    (2)One datamover node for one DataCenter(Site)?
    (3)One datamover node for one vStorage Backup Server?

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    103
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jackyzhang View Post
    Which one of the following is recommended?

    (1)One datamover node for one ESX server?
    (2)One datamover node for one DataCenter(Site)?
    (3)One datamover node for one vStorage Backup Server?
    It depends on your scheduling approach. When you want to do full backups based on hosts then 1 is fine. When you want to do full backups based on vStorage Server 3 is fine. In most cases 2 doesn't make sense.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    BeiJing, China
    Posts
    47
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    Thanks a lot.

    Another question:
    Which schedule method do you use?
    (1) use TSM for VE VMcenter plugin to schedule a backup.
    (2) write a cmd script "dsmc backup vm....", and use traditional TSM scheduler to invoke it ?

    Thanks again.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    103
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

    Default

    You do not need to write a cmd script. You can schedule VM backups with TSM 6.x. Just create a opt file with your backup options. Then use a client scheduler to invoke backup.

    You should care which scheduling approach I use. You should determine the best approach for your number of hosts, vms, backup strategy and needed throughput.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    BeiJing, China
    Posts
    47
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    Sorry, I just read from the guide.

    They define the schedule from vSphere client with TSM plugin.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    103
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

    Default

    Yes this is possible. It is almost the same. vCenter Plugin creates schedulers on TSM Server by using vCLI node and client acceptor. You can setup your own scheduling on TSM server without any problems.

Similar Threads

  1. TSM and IBM Protectier TS7650 compression discussion
    By jharris in forum VTL - Virtual Tape Library
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 11-20-2010, 11:48 AM
  2. Multiple Nodenames on the Same Client
    By dhudson in forum TSM Client
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 09-28-2009, 01:34 PM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-09-2009, 03:00 PM
  4. Discussion about Migration to secondary stgpools
    By oetjmackey in forum TSM Server
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 06-06-2008, 01:31 PM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-21-2004, 08:46 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •