Results 1 to 2 of 2
  1. #1
    Newcomer
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Migrating from TSM 5.4 on AIX to TSM 6.3 on Windows

    I'm looking to migrate from TSM 5.4 on AIX to TSM 6.3 on Windows.

    From a couple of other forum posts I understand that the generally accepted/recommended approach would be to export server to server. (Storage space will likely not be an issue, though volume of data might.)

    Question 1: Would the TSM source server need to be at the same version as the target server? i.e. would I need to upgrade TSM on AIX to 6.3 before running the server to server export?

    I am also investigating an alternate approach: If the volume of data is such that time constraints prevent server to server export from being feasible then attempt a database level export, import without actually moving any data.

    So, Upgrade TSM on AIX to 6.3, followed by db2move/db2look on the TSM DB2 database.

    Question 2: Has anyone tried this before? I am in the process of simulating this with test data on TSM5.4 on a Linux VM with a move to TSM6.3 on a Windows VM. I plan to share my experience (successful or not) but hope that someone may have already attempted this.

  2. #2
    Moderator moon-buddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Somewhere in the US
    Posts
    5,924
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 233 Times in 228 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by asanadi View Post
    I'm looking to migrate from TSM 5.4 on AIX to TSM 6.3 on Windows.

    From a couple of other forum posts I understand that the generally accepted/recommended approach would be to export server to server. (Storage space will likely not be an issue, though volume of data might.)

    Question 1: Would the TSM source server need to be at the same version as the target server? i.e. would I need to upgrade TSM on AIX to 6.3 before running the server to server export?

    I am also investigating an alternate approach: If the volume of data is such that time constraints prevent server to server export from being feasible then attempt a database level export, import without actually moving any data.

    So, Upgrade TSM on AIX to 6.3, followed by db2move/db2look on the TSM DB2 database.
    To move from one platform to another platform, you can only do server export. Period. I am doing right now a TSM 5.5 on HP-UX to TSM 6.1.5 on Linux export. I suggest upgrading your TSM 5.4 to 5.5 before exporting to 6.3.x. But why Windows - you are trading a Rolls Royce for a Kia - at least that is my opinion.

    Question 2: Has anyone tried this before? I am in the process of simulating this with test data on TSM5.4 on a Linux VM with a move to TSM6.3 on a Windows VM. I plan to share my experience (successful or not) but hope that someone may have already attempted this.
    As I said you cannot do this - different platform can only be exported. Period. Don't attempt as this is just as waste of time.
    Last edited by moon-buddy; 12-05-2013 at 09:21 AM.
    Ed

Similar Threads

  1. Migrating TSM from AIX to Windows - revision
    By dreamz in forum TSM Server
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 12-31-2010, 10:46 AM
  2. Migrating TSM from AIX to Linux
    By fat_dumb_n_happy in forum TSM Server
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-31-2008, 05:23 PM
  3. Migrating TSM from AIX to AIX box
    By johnsot in forum TSM Server
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 01-22-2007, 05:58 PM
  4. Migrating TSM 5.2 From Windows to AIX machine
    By sijud in forum TSM Server
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-26-2004, 11:37 AM
  5. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-25-2003, 02:58 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •