Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Newcomer
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    delhi
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default BA-Client installation on AIX

    Hello,

    I am new for TSM. There are more than one db2 instance on AIX, under one instance there are many databases.
    So, Where should I install ba client, instance level or root level?


    Thanks,
    Saurabh

  2. #2
    Moderator moon-buddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Somewhere in the US
    Posts
    5,718
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 207 Times in 202 Posts

    Default

    You are talking about the BA client and not DB2 TSM backup, right? BA client is always installed at root level.
    Last edited by moon-buddy; 06-11-2012 at 01:29 PM.
    Ed

  3. #3
    Newcomer
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    delhi
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Hello,

    Right, I am talking about the BA client and not DB2 TSM backup. But i have to install BA client for db2 backup or is there any other option?
    And when i installed BA client at root level then how can i configure many instance with BA client. Because there is only one node name.

    Thanks,
    Saurabh

  4. #4
    Moderator moon-buddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Somewhere in the US
    Posts
    5,718
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 207 Times in 202 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by soru05 View Post
    Hello,

    Right, I am talking about the BA client and not DB2 TSM backup. But i have to install BA client for db2 backup or is there any other option?
    And when i installed BA client at root level then how can i configure many instance with BA client. Because there is only one node name.

    Thanks,
    Saurabh
    I hope you are not talking about the DB2 instance that runs TSM server. This is already backed up within TSM.

    There is no BA client for DB2 per se as DB2 has a built in TSM API. This simply means that after you install DB2, you can automatically back it up with TSM.
    Last edited by moon-buddy; 06-11-2012 at 01:30 PM.
    Ed

Similar Threads

  1. TSM 6.2.2 installation fail on AIX
    By stephrf in forum TSM Installation, Upgrade and Configuration
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-08-2012, 05:00 AM
  2. ISC installation on AIX
    By mikeatkc in forum TSM Installation, Upgrade and Configuration
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-18-2009, 11:47 AM
  3. TSM 5.5 client installation problem on AIX 5.3
    By greenyez in forum TSM Client
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-21-2008, 09:07 AM
  4. i need installation guide for AIX CLIENT TSM
    By chen_amram in forum TSM Client
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-20-2007, 08:31 AM
  5. AIX installation
    By pictux in forum TSM Server
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-28-2007, 04:35 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •