Results 1 to 3 of 3
04-10-2012, 09:58 AM #1
Destroy primary volume no copy volume available
We are running TSM 5.5.6, Windows 2003. Our primary pools are on a Data Domain. I have a primary volume that has gotten corrupt and we do not have a copy of it to do a restore. So, if I update the volume to destroyed, will Tivoli be smart enough to know what was on the volume and "recapture" the files that were on the destroyed volume with the next backup of the clients if the file is available or is there something else I should do that I'm not thinking of?
04-10-2012, 01:14 PM #2
- Join Date
- Aug 2005
- Somewhere in the US
- Thanked 194 Times in 190 Posts
Th term 'destroyed' really just means that: destroyed. So all data will be lost.
If the data still exist - meaning still active - on the node/s that were backed up by the destroyed volumes, a new backup needs to be done. To make sure, you have to force a full backup.
If the data that were on the destroyed volumes are inactive and have been deleted from the node/s, the files will be gone and can never be recovered.
Last edited by moon-buddy; 04-12-2012 at 10:06 AM.Ed
04-10-2012, 01:27 PM #3
That's what I was thinking...just wanted to make sure I wasn't missing the obvious.
By bprrajeev in forum TSM OperationReplies: 4Last Post: 12-29-2010, 02:55 AM
By Bolito in forum Restore / Recovery DiscussionReplies: 9Last Post: 04-20-2010, 11:38 AM
By vnvasanth in forum Backup / Archive DiscussionReplies: 1Last Post: 06-18-2008, 12:07 PM
By ben in forum Hierarchical Storage ManagementReplies: 0Last Post: 02-06-2006, 10:52 AM
By TeEsEm in forum Backup / Archive DiscussionReplies: 2Last Post: 12-21-2004, 04:44 PM