Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Newcomer
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Question Excluding a Database?

    Hi all sorry for the Newb question,
    I'm trying to exclude one database from the DSM.opt. I've read multiple tread on it and can't really figure out what's wrong in my DSM file.
    Here's my syntax

    EXCLUDE "mtlsql10\meta\...\Son_db\full*"
    EXCLUDE "mtlsql10\data\...\Son_db\full*"
    what am I missing?

    Thank you for your time!
    Don't forget I am a newbe for TSM. ;o)

  2. #2
    Moderator chad_small's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Gilbert, AZ
    Posts
    2,191
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 24 Times in 23 Posts

    Default

    So the full backup always starts with full in the name? Also if we are talking about a windows sever you need to specify a drive.

    EXCLUDE "*:\mtlsql10\meta\...\Son_db\full*"
    EXCLUDE "*:\mtlsql10\data\...\Son_db\full*"

    See if that works.
    Chad Small
    IBM Certified Deployment Professional
    chadsmal@gmail.com
    http://www.tsmadmin.com

  3. #3
    Newcomer
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Thanks Chad, But it did not work.
    Here is my full DSM

    EXCLUDE "*:\mtlsql10\meta\...\Son_db\*"
    EXCLUDE "*:\mtlsql10\data\...\Son_db\*"
    INCLUDE "mtlsql10\meta\...\bud\full*" sql
    INCLUDE "mtlsql10\data\...\bud\full*" sql
    INCLUDE "mtlsql10\meta\...\arc2\full*" sql
    INCLUDE "mtlsql10\data\...\arc2\full*" sql
    INCLUDE "mtlsql10\meta\...\arc\full*" sql
    INCLUDE "mtlsql10\data\...\arc\full*" sql
    INCLUDE "mtlsql10\meta\...\User\full*" sql
    INCLUDE "mtlsql10\data\...\User\full*" sql
    INCLUDE "mtlsql10\meta\...\msdb\full*" sql
    INCLUDE "mtlsql10\data\...\msdb\full*" sql
    INCLUDE "mtlsql10\meta\...\model\full*" sql
    INCLUDE "mtlsql10\data\...\model\full*" sql
    INCLUDE "mtlsql10\meta\...\master\full*" sql
    INCLUDE "mtlsql10\data\...\master\full*" sql

    As for the DB that start with the name full, I really don't know. I will take a look at this with the DBA.
    Thanks again

  4. #4
    Moderator chad_small's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Gilbert, AZ
    Posts
    2,191
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 24 Times in 23 Posts

    Default

    EXCLUDEs need to be first in most INCLUDE/EXCLUDE lists. Remember this phrase...I used it when I taught TSM years ago to help students understand how INCLUDE/EXCLUDES work (I would have them repeat it out load, hence the ALL CAPS!)....

    ANY EXCLUDE.DIR's ARE READ FIRST
    BOTTOM UP PROCESSING
    STOP WHEN YOU FIND A MATCH
    IF ITS NOT EXCLUDED ITS INCLUDED!

    Note: TSM starts reading from the BOTTOM of the list not top
    Chad Small
    IBM Certified Deployment Professional
    chadsmal@gmail.com
    http://www.tsmadmin.com

  5. #5
    Newcomer
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    I reverse the dsm so that it looks like this, and I still have the possibility to backup that database

    INCLUDE "mtlsql10\meta\...\bud\full*" sql
    INCLUDE "mtlsql10\data\...\bud\full*" sql
    INCLUDE "mtlsql10\meta\...\arc2\full*" sql
    INCLUDE "mtlsql10\data\...\arc2\full*" sql
    INCLUDE "mtlsql10\meta\...\arc\full*" sql
    INCLUDE "mtlsql10\data\...\arc\full*" sql
    INCLUDE "mtlsql10\meta\...\User\full*" sql
    INCLUDE "mtlsql10\data\...\User\full*" sql
    INCLUDE "mtlsql10\meta\...\msdb\full*" sql
    INCLUDE "mtlsql10\data\...\msdb\full*" sql
    INCLUDE "mtlsql10\meta\...\model\full*" sql
    INCLUDE "mtlsql10\data\...\model\full*" sql
    INCLUDE "mtlsql10\meta\...\master\full*" sql
    INCLUDE "mtlsql10\data\...\master\full*" sql
    EXCLUDE "*:\mtlsql10\meta\...\Son_db\*"
    EXCLUDE "*:\mtlsql10\data\...\Son_db\*"

    Sorry for all the trouble

  6. #6
    Moderator chad_small's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Gilbert, AZ
    Posts
    2,191
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 24 Times in 23 Posts

    Default

    No the Exclude will override any following includes for the same directory. The TSM client will exclude all files once it hits the mtlsql10\meta\...\Son_db\ and the \mtlsql10\data\...\Son_db\ directories. Any following includes will be ignored. Try it.
    Chad Small
    IBM Certified Deployment Professional
    chadsmal@gmail.com
    http://www.tsmadmin.com

  7. #7
    Member zsoltesz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Hungary
    Posts
    101
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Default

    I think, you use tdp for sql, not the ba client. In this case, you have to write something like this to the dsm.opt file:

    exclude \...\Son_db\full*

  8. #8
    Senior Member Trident's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    262
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts

    Default

    Or, using the command line

    tdpsqlc backup * full /excludedb=db1,db2,db3.....
    -= Trident =-

  9. #9
    Newcomer
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    @zsoltesz, yes I am using TDP. I've tried what you suggest but I'm still able to backup that database. I guess what I'll do is just stop my scheduler for tonight. It was only a one time deal and if I need further assistance I will place a call with IBM or come back to this forum where you get an excellent service!

Similar Threads

  1. Excluding a database
    By theconqueror in forum Microsoft SQL Server
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-13-2010, 09:15 AM
  2. Excluding Mirrored SQL Database in OPT
    By MikeVB in forum Microsoft SQL Server
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-24-2009, 03:34 PM
  3. Excluding ASR
    By GregE in forum Backup / Archive Discussion
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 04-13-2009, 01:03 PM
  4. Excluding VSS
    By hpatel1974 in forum Backup / Archive Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-15-2005, 12:42 AM
  5. excluding database files from file system backup
    By boonchia in forum TDP/Application Layer Backup
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-21-2002, 12:30 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •