Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Senior Member GregE's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    2,100
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 17 Times in 16 Posts

    Default Fastback Repository - NETAPP?

    At the remote site we want to use FB, and there is no back-end storage right now, but they are going to use a NetApp filer device. That will be the only backend storage at the site. Can the FB repository be on a NetApp filer?

    Does this scenario even make sense to do?
    Last edited by GregE; 12-15-2011 at 02:23 PM.

  2. #2

    Default

    You can use the NetApp filer for storage for the FB repositories but the question is what are you protecting and what are your recovery scenarios. For example if the data you are protecting is on the NetApp and it goes down then your local recovery is going to a bit difficult. You could recover using a remote FB replica on a new NetApp and ship it to the site. It all depends on the anticipated failure modes and how you plan to recover for each.
    Ken Bury
    Client Technical Specialist
    Tivoli Storage Software
    IBM Corporation

    Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/KenBury
    Linkedin: http://linkedin.com/in/KenBury
    Blog: http://thinkstoragemodel.blogspot.com/
    Tivoli Request for Enhancement (RFE) site: http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/rfe/?BRAND_ID=90

  3. #3
    Senior Member GregE's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    2,100
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 17 Times in 16 Posts

    Default

    Thank you for the reply. Yea I understand the total-loss scenario and I need to make a stronger case to the powers-that-be of what problems that could create.

    In our TSM environment, the TSM diskpools are on the same XIV as the data TSM is protecting. Of course within a few hours that backup data is on tape, so it's not all-or-nothing as it would be with Fastback repository on the same device of the data it's backing up.

  4. #4
    Senior Member GregE's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    2,100
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 17 Times in 16 Posts

    Default

    Could someone lay out the scenario for full restore of FB server from the FB DR server? I think I have a high level summary, but if there is more, please let me know.

    High level.....
    1) Export FB DR data to a storage device
    2) Ship storage device to site of FB server
    3) Build new FB server
    4) Import FB DR data into new FB server repository
    5) Restore systems

    I am building the scenario for restore, if we use a single remote storage device for backup data AND production data, if that storage device fails and needs to be fully restored. I need to make sure that the business owners understand the significant time it will take to recover from that loss.

Similar Threads

  1. Fastback mount TSM repository script
    By Mcanseco in forum TSM Fastback
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-24-2011, 06:37 AM
  2. Fastback mount and repository access
    By ohwell in forum TSM Fastback
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-23-2011, 06:43 AM
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-13-2011, 12:38 PM
  4. FastBack deduplicated repository maximum size.
    By JAX in forum TSM Fastback
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-13-2011, 11:47 AM
  5. TSM FastBack repository is offline
    By chavdar.cholev in forum TSM Fastback
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-26-2010, 12:43 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •