Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Member Rigido's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Rome, Italy
    Posts
    59
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Question TSM 6.3 Client Performance Reporting

    Hi,
    did someone try this new 6.3 feature?!
    I upgraded my Windows test client to 6.3.0 and I put the PERFMON* options into the dsm.opt file, I previously upgraded (actually removed the old one and fresh installed TIP/AC 6.3) but I did nothing on the server side (6.2.3.0 on AIX system), does someone know if I have to upgrade even the server to 6.3?
    Actually I "selective" backed up twice a 90MB directory but nothing appeared on the AC (TSM -> Reporting -> Client Performance Monitor).
    Any hint will be appreciated

    Ciao.

  2. #2
    Member Andrey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Russia, Moscow
    Posts
    39
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Default

    Hi Rigido!
    There are no need to upgrade server to v6.3.
    This feature works only with API(any Data Protection).
    You need to add perfmontcpaddress and so on to DP options file.

    Check on AC server perfmon port(default 5129) and perfmon availability(does perfmon is started).
    I believe this helps u

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Andrey For This Useful Post:

    Rigido (11-18-2011)

  4. #3
    Member Rigido's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Rome, Italy
    Posts
    59
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Andrey View Post
    This feature works only with API(any Data Protection).
    I think this is all I needed to know.
    I really hoped that just installing (not using) API was enough, so even standard BA client could send performance data.

    Thank you!

  5. #4

    Default

    TSM Administration Center 6.3 must be installed. The TSM for Databases/Mail 6.3.X must be installed and the dsm.opt file for that must have the following options configured:
    PERFMONTCPSERVERADDRESS xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
    PERFMONTCPPORT 5129 (Documentation for Admin Center says 5130, but listens on 5129)
    PERFMONCOMMTIMEOUT 30

    Worked great for me once I found the port issues and corrected the client.

    Hope this helps!

  6. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    84
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    Hello All,
    I install “IBM Tivoli Storage Manager for Windows Version 6.3 Installation Guide on how to implement Administration Center and Client Performance Monitor” on standalone windows 2008 machine for performans analyz. And then I add these line in “C:\Program Files\Tivoli\TSM\TDPExchange directory dsm.opt file”

    My windows Admin Center and Client perf monitor server ip address is 10.xx.xx.xx“

    perfmontcpserveradress 10.xx.xx.xx
    perfmontcpport 5129
    perfomoncommtimeout 30

    when I run test backup I have get some errors.




    07/06/2012 14:18:09 ANS1038S Invalid option specified
    07/06/2012 14:18:09 ANS1036S The option 'PERFMONTCPSERVERADRESS' or the value supplied for it is not valid. It was found in options file 'dsm.opt'
    at line number: 7
    The complete entry: 'perfmontcpserveradress 10.xx.xx.xx'

    07/06/2012 14:18:09 ANS1038S Invalid option specified
    07/06/2012 14:18:09 ANS0220E An invalid option was found during option parsing.
    07/06/2012 14:24:25 ANS1036S The option 'PERFMONTCPPPORT' or the value supplied for it is not valid. It was found in options file 'C:\Program Files\Tivoli\tsm\TDPExchange\dsm.opt'
    at line number: 10
    The complete entry: 'PERFMONTCPPPORT 5129'


    07/06/2012 14:24:25 ANS1038S Invalid option specified
    07/06/2012 14:24:25 ANS0220E An invalid option was found during option parsing.




    C:\Program Files\Tivoli\TSM\TDPExchange directory dsm.opt file is
    NODename S170MBX03_EXC
    PASSWORDAccess generate
    TCPServeraddress 10.a.b.c
    TCPPort 1500
    HTTPport 1581

    TRACEFILE "c:\temp\APITRACE.TRC"
    TRACEFLAG SERVICE VERBDETAIL VSS_DETAIL


    perfmontcpserveradress 10.xx.xx.xx
    perfmontcpport 5129
    perfomoncommtimeout 30




    what should i am doing?

    Thank you All
    Regards.

  7. #6
    Newcomer
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    You have a typo on "perfmontcpserveradress 10.xx.xx.xx" it should be "perfmontcpserveraddress 10.xx.xx.xx"

    I don't know about line 10, but over here:
    http://pic.dhe.ibm.com/infocenter/ts...n_options.html
    It looks like "PERFMONTCPPPORT xxxx" in the example.

    Mine just worked with the tcp address line.

  8. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    84
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    Hello dsvc,

    thank you so much for your help,

    correctly usage ;

    perfmontcpserveraddress 10.xx.xx.xx
    perfmontcpport 5129
    PERFMONCOMMTIMEOUT 30


    Thank you.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 09-19-2011, 04:00 PM
  2. tsm client performance
    By dugan in forum Performance Tuning
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 04-21-2008, 10:02 AM
  3. Operational reporting performance
    By woolfm in forum TSM Reporting & Monitoring
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-04-2007, 03:35 AM
  4. Operational Reporting Performance Problem
    By leandrine in forum TSM Reporting & Monitoring
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-03-2007, 05:46 AM
  5. Performance Problem with TSM-Client 5.2.2.0
    By erich_hieber in forum Performance Tuning
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-31-2004, 12:04 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •