Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    32
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default TSM DB2 Sizing and Structure Question

    Hello


    I have a p720 server with AIX 6.1 installed. Back end Storage is on a DS4800 behind a SVC. I am going to be using SDDPCM as we currently do that on a p520 server running Aix 5.3.

    Our existing production TSM 5.5 Server's database is 150GB (130GB used). I'm not doing a migration as I plan on moving clients over to the TSM 6.2 server in small quantities.

    The p720 is a single 8-Core CPU with 32GB Ram (in case we decide on dedup)

    My initial thoughts on DB2 sizing are:-

    Directories

    /opt/tivoli/tsm/db/dbdir001 100GB
    /opt/tivoli/tsm/db/dbdir002 100GB
    /opt/tivoli/tsm/db/dbdir003 100GB
    /opt/tivoli/tsm/db/dbdir004 100GB

    Active Log

    /opt/tivoli/tsm/log/active 30GB ?

    Archive Log

    /opt/tivoli/tsm/log/archive 30GB (probably a bit on the low side??) I backup about 300,000 files a day.


    dbvg will be the DB2 Dir Volume Group (4 LUNS - 1 hdisks / LUN)
    actvg will be the DB2 Active Log Volume Group (1 LUN - 1 hdisk)
    archivevg will be the DB2 Archive Log Volume Group (1 LUN - 1 hdisk)

    Questions:

    1. Is my archive log size going to be too small to cater for two full TSM DB2 backups?
    2. Is the active log size overkill for 300 nodes?
    3. Should I have more DB2 directories and smaller sizes?

    I probably have more questions as I think of them.

    Any feedback would be appreciated. Thank you.
    Last edited by mkbowman; 06-08-2011 at 03:25 PM.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Default

    Since your storage is behind the svc I'd just make 1 400G disk for the dbvolume. The idea of using four directoriesis that you spread the I/O over several physical disk on your 4800 but the SVC does that for you. Also, there is no harm in making the active log larger than you need so you don't run out of space if you miss a dbbackup over a weekend or something. Mine is 100G

  3. #3

    Default

    I agree with Jafco regarding putting the database on one volume. Based on what I am hearing from other customers and corroborated by a DB2 performance white paper, when using stripped disk for the database you want to stick with one database volume. Otherwise you will likely see poorer than expected performance. Another tip is to make the instance home directory a separate filesystem because if the instance home directory runs out of space your DB2 stops.
    Ken Bury
    Client Technical Specialist
    Tivoli Storage Software
    IBM Corporation

    Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/KenBury
    Linkedin: http://linkedin.com/in/KenBury
    Blog: http://thinkstoragemodel.blogspot.com/
    Tivoli Request for Enhancement (RFE) site: http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/rfe/?BRAND_ID=90

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    115
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Default

    hi!

    am i counting correct?

    DB:
    in tsm 5: 80GB
    in tsm 6 -> 80GB*1.5 = 120GB (as recommended) + some growth: 150GB

    ARCHIVE LOG:
    select sum(num_files) from occupancy -> which returns 108.851.601 objects
    when i sum all the files from all backups during 24hours i get 21.820.713, so approximately 1/5th of data is changing per day. wow.
    ibm says:
    objects/day x 3000 bytes/object x 2 days = 130924278000 bytes ~= 125GB <- WHAT

    in TSM5 we have 8 GB redolog ^^.
    Utilized up to 55% during 12 Hours. means we should have 32GB in tsm5 to keep 2 days. which is FAR LESS then 125GB!!!!

    two things:
    - we do a dbbackup eacht 12 hours
    - tsm5 does incremental dbbackups if redolog is getting full. tsm6 will do so as well, will it?

    so setting 100GB should be more than enough in this environement as well?

    thanks

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    115
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Default

    found an error

    its not 21.820.713 objects, but 741.316
    that happens if you miss some "()" in your select statement

    ^^

  6. #6
    Senior Member GregE's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    2,100
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 17 Times in 16 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by KB View Post
    Based on what I am hearing from other customers and corroborated by a DB2 performance white paper, when using stripped disk for the database you want to stick with one database volume. Otherwise you will likely see poorer than expected performance.
    My SAN is XIV (not behind SVC). For the purpose of DB performance, would a single DB volume still be best here too?

  7. #7

    Default

    Yes, for XIV, one LUN-LV for the database but still make multiple database containers to force more parallel IO out of DB2. http://ibm.co/Xc3AXg
    Ken Bury
    Client Technical Specialist
    Tivoli Storage Software
    IBM Corporation

    Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/KenBury
    Linkedin: http://linkedin.com/in/KenBury
    Blog: http://thinkstoragemodel.blogspot.com/
    Tivoli Request for Enhancement (RFE) site: http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/rfe/?BRAND_ID=90

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to KB For This Useful Post:

    GregE  (04-04-2013)

  9. #8
    Senior Member GregE's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    2,100
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 17 Times in 16 Posts

    Default

    Ken, that is excellent info. Thank you.

  10. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    TSM World
    Posts
    34
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    Hi GregE,
    The most recent whitepaper is saying at a minimum 8 Drives/LUNS paths for a deduplication Database.
    ]
    What did you end up doing?
    I'm currently setup with 4 paths, but they were under one Drive letter. I've been debating if I want to break it up over 4 LUNS/Drives. But I'd like to know that the performance increase is going to be worth the effort.


    https://www.ibm.com/developerworks/c...0and%20clients

Similar Threads

  1. Dont quite understand TSM 6.1 DB structure
    By spiffy in forum TSM Server
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-02-2010, 02:58 AM
  2. IBM DB2 to backup client to TSM directly question
    By Fattire in forum Backup / Archive Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-23-2007, 01:47 AM
  3. TSM Team structure
    By supermoe in forum Others
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-02-2006, 01:12 PM
  4. DB2 backup question...
    By yilas in forum DB2
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 09-28-2006, 09:26 AM
  5. DB2 backups to TSM Versions Retained question
    By cheffern in forum TDP/Application Layer Backup
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-06-2005, 10:03 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •