Results 1 to 17 of 17
  1. #1
    Senior Member cheffern's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    1,004
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Question file name too long for backup?

    hi all - here is an error I am hoping you can help me get around...
    customer says they need this file backed up -
    TSM says it can't.


    ANS4018E Error processing '/wasdata/jsf_compare/BCR/js/org_org_org_org_org_org_org_org_org_org_org_org_or g_org_org_org_org_org_org_org_org_org_org_org_org_ org_org_org_org_org_org_org_org_org_org_org_org_or g_org_org_org_org_org_org_org_org_org_org_org_org_ org_org_org_org_org_org_custom_adopter_field_contr ol.': file name too long
    ANS4018E Error processing

    any thoughts on how I can accomplish this?
    the node is AIX 6.1 with TSM client 5.5 on it.

    tia -
    -Chef.

  2. #2
    Senior Member domino's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    706
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 24 Times in 22 Posts

    Default

    what is the version of TSM server?

    File name length depends from TSM server version
    - 5.4 >> 260 Bytes (file and path)
    - 5.5 >> now supports up to 8704 bytes in length for fully qualified file names
    If Microsoft is the answer, I want my problem back!

  3. #3
    Senior Member cheffern's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    1,004
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Default

    TSM server is AIX 6.4.1.2...

  4. #4
    Senior Member cheffern's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    1,004
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Default

    in fact - my mistake - the node TSM client version is actually even 6.1.3.0
    so how come I am still seeing this issue?

  5. #5
    Member rwhtmv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    228
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    So it would be out of line to suggest not using incomprehensibly long file names? Or ask them to rename the file to something that doesn't require a calculator to compare to other files.

  6. #6
    Senior Member domino's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    706
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 24 Times in 22 Posts

    Default

    try display OBJNAME
    If Microsoft is the answer, I want my problem back!

  7. #7
    Senior Member cheffern's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    1,004
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Default

    LOL rwh customer did something massively funky to their setup, yeah, I agree! but no, they won't undo it - not a chance.

    Domino - how can I pull this - can you give me a little more detail on how to get the object info?
    thanks!

  8. #8
    Newcomer
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    You say: TSM server is AIX 6.4.1.2...

    I think IBM has not come to that version yet!

    6.2.x.x is the newest as far as I know.

  9. #9
    Moderator chad_small's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Gilbert, AZ
    Posts
    2,194
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 26 Times in 25 Posts

    Default

    well if they wont change the name change it for TSM. In other words exclude the file and create a prescheduled command to zip/tar the file under a new name (without all the orgs) and then backup that file. Stupid customers drive me nuts.
    Chad Small
    IBM Certified Deployment Professional
    chadsmal@gmail.com
    http://www.tsmadmin.com

  10. #10
    Senior Member domino's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    706
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 24 Times in 22 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cheffern View Post
    ... how can I pull this - can you give me a little more detail on how to get the object info? ...
    If you see an errormessage like " ... Error handling file [TSMOBJ:1.1.656798] " you can use
    display OBJNAME 1.1.656798
    If Microsoft is the answer, I want my problem back!

  11. #11
    Senior Member cheffern's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    1,004
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Default

    heh - hooray for typo catchers! it's 6.1.4.2

    no OBJ name error like that popping out at me, but I will look some more - thanks for that input.

    Chad - yea...maybe it's a file that never changes and I can do that as a 1 time fix. would be nice... we'll see!

    thanks for the thoughts
    cheers!
    -Chef.

  12. #12
    Newcomer
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Are you suffering in unlocking, managing and renaming long named files?

    After days of searching I finally found solution for unlocking, managing and renaming long named files. Get your problem solved from http://longpathtool.com/

  13. #13
    Moderator moon-buddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Somewhere in the US
    Posts
    5,940
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 234 Times in 229 Posts

    Default

    Actually it is 6.3.x for some clients ...
    Ed

  14. #14
    Senior Member cheffern's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    1,004
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Default

    hey Ed - did you ever figure this out? what I ended up doing was going back to the root part and just excluding the first loop from there...the bad part is that then it still takes forever as it tells you "file was excluded by incl/excl list" // ugh
    -Chef.

  15. #15
    Member Castaway's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Boonedocks
    Posts
    37
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    We recently had this same problem and it turned out to be an error in the script creating the file name. The script owner corrected it and life is good again. Have them verify they don't have a loop in their naming script or suggest to them that that file doesn't need that many _org's!
    Living the dash

  16. #16
    Newcomer
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default file name too long for backup?

    Long Path Tool helped me in this situation. http://PathTooDeep.com

  17. #17
    Newcomer
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    I think you may concern with http://PathTooDeep.com because i have face such problem for many times and long path tool help me in this situation.
    you should use and fix all the problems.Thanks

Similar Threads

  1. Backup Window too long
    By greyhound in forum Backup / Archive Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-19-2009, 11:25 AM
  2. Long running backup..!!!
    By Asha in forum Backup / Archive Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-01-2009, 10:42 AM
  3. Windows FIle Server LONG backups
    By Stephan in forum Backup / Archive Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-12-2007, 10:29 AM
  4. How long does my TSM DB backup take?
    By thekid241 in forum Backup / Archive Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-12-2006, 01:28 AM
  5. Novel client file space Backup Sets running to long
    By pegasus in forum Backup / Archive Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-13-2006, 05:15 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •