Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    97
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default Script - Command Line

    Hi,

    How to run a script with the TXT extension using the TSM command line, example: script.txt

    Thank you for your attention,
    Ramon

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    42
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Default

    run script.txt

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    97
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    neerajkgupta,

    Has failed, as follows:

    tsm: PRRJ>run script.txt
    ANR1455E RUN: Command script SCRIPT.TXT does not exist.
    ANS8001I Return code 11.

    Thanks,
    Ramon

  4. #4
    Senior Member Raakin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    373
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    As far as I know, TSM does not or can not run scripts outside of TSM defined scripts.

    If the contents are TSM commands, then you could define a new TSM script and basically copy and paste the contents of that *.txt script. Then if you happen to name the script script.txt, then run the script as neers mentioned.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    42
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Default

    you need a complete path for the script.txt.

  6. #6
    Senior Member Raakin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    373
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Using the complete path did not work for me.
    I still think TSM does not run scripts that are not defined by TSM.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    106
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Default

    Hi all,

    You have to make the difference between scripts that must be defined and are in the database and macros that are command files that must reside locally on filesystem where dsmadmc is run (and can use a full path name).
    See HELP DEFINE SCRIPT, HELP RUN & HELP MACRO

  8. #8
    Member sandeepkontham's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Hyderabad,India
    Posts
    284
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    Macro file_name */ file of the local system/*
    run script_name */script defined in TSM DB/*
    *Everybody loves TSM (if understood )
    Sandeep

  9. #9
    Senior Member Raakin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    373
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sandeepkontham View Post
    Macro file_name */ file of the local system/*
    run script_name */script defined in TSM DB/*
    And this is why I love adsm.org... thanks for the 'new to me' command. Using 'macro' <full path & file name> worked in my test.

Similar Threads

  1. restore from command line
    By bisaal46 in forum TSM Client
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-01-2009, 04:49 AM
  2. command line
    By Mona in forum Backup / Archive Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-04-2008, 11:39 AM
  3. Command line
    By aeleter in forum Tape / Media Library
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-14-2007, 05:17 PM
  4. Automate script from command line
    By tommy13v in forum Scripting
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-04-2005, 12:07 PM
  5. Command Line not active
    By mikle in forum TSM Server
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-20-2004, 08:59 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •