Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Newcomer
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Include only these dir and subdir

    HI There,

    I have checked the previous posts on this and not really found an answer.

    I would like to only backup 3 directories on my server:
    DOMAIN All-Local -SYSTEMSTATE

    *exclude everything
    exclude *

    *Include only these directories and sub directories
    INCLUDE "C:\appfilder\*"
    INCLUDE "C:\appfolder\...\*"
    INCLUDE "C:\InetPub\*"
    INCLUDE "C:\appfolder\...\*"
    INCLUDE "D:\Backup\*"
    INCLUDE "D:\Backup\...\*"
    When i launch the client and check the incl via q incl it all looks fine:

    [IMG]file:///C:/DOCUME%7E1/e431743/LOCALS%7E1/Temp/moz-screenshot.png[/IMG][IMG]file:///C:/DOCUME%7E1/e431743/LOCALS%7E1/Temp/moz-screenshot-1.png[/IMG]
    Include FS *\*\* dsm_7yr.opt
    Include All D:\Backup\...\* dsm_7yr.opt
    Include All D:\Backup\* dsm_7yr.opt
    Include All C:\appfolder\...\* dsm_7yr.opt
    Include All C:\InetPub\* dsm_7yr.opt
    Include All C:\appfolder\...\* dsm_7yr.opt
    Include All C:\appfolder\* dsm_7yr.opt
    Exclude All *\...\* dsm_7yr.opt
    No DFS include/exclude statements defined.
    When i run an 'i' it backs up as above but also the entire empty directory structure.

    How can i get it to only check and backup the folders specified?

    thanks

    John

  2. #2
    Senior Member Raakin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    373
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    exclude is another name for exclude.file, which as you noticed... only affects files

    You need to use another option, exclude.dir to affect directories.

    Reference this post for a ton more info
    http://adsm.org/forum/showthread.php...ndows-platform

    Post #7 shows some examples of using exclude.dir in a range format
    http://adsm.org/forum/showthread.php...ll=1#post95527

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    36
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    You will need to use Exclude.dir to exclude the directories not listed in your include statements.

  4. #4
    Newcomer
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Thanks guys,

    am running this
    exclude.dir C:[b-fh-hj-z]*
    exclude.dir D:[a-ac-z]*

    let you know how i go

Similar Threads

  1. Include-exclude syntax Exclude.dir
    By stratanic in forum Backup / Archive Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-23-2010, 09:03 AM
  2. exclude subdir in archive (subdir is hidden)
    By rogwall in forum Backup / Archive Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-12-2006, 05:50 PM
  3. Where is option "include.dir"?
    By rischard in forum Backup / Archive Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-31-2005, 10:54 AM
  4. INCLUDE.DIR -- Why Not?
    By sfcc in forum Backup / Archive Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-16-2004, 03:15 PM
  5. INCLUDE.DIR -- Why Not?
    By sfcc in forum TSM Server
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-31-2003, 08:13 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •