Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Question 6.2 TSM database backup span over two-three volumes when backup run to FILE DEVICE

    Hi I just wonder when I run TSM db backup my database backup creates more than volume even mount limit is 1 and file device maxsize much much bigger than my total database size. When I run on a tape it is just volume
    Database size is 50 GB tsm version is 6.2

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    516
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Default

    Hi tsm.report
    Please post output from
    query devc f=d and query db f=d
    also write specify the name of the device class that you are using.
    Windows, does it come with a gui?

  3. #3
    Senior Member DanGiles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Ont. Canada
    Posts
    548
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    Do you mean maxcap? What's maxcap for the device class?
    Daniel R. Giles
    Sileg Consulting Inc.
    416.402.9744 dan.giles@sileg.com
    http://www.linkedin.com/in/sileg

Similar Threads

  1. Using Device Class DISK to backup tsm database
    By gavin in forum TSM Operation
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-09-2010, 11:47 AM
  2. Database Backup and Scratch Volumes
    By simbonk in forum Capacity Planning
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-13-2009, 03:05 PM
  3. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-04-2008, 11:04 AM
  4. Backup a file device class volume with the BA client??
    By koutsane in forum TSM Installation, Upgrade and Configuration
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-14-2008, 03:12 AM
  5. TSM Database backup to file??
    By shandy in forum Backup / Archive Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-12-2006, 10:04 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •