Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Tape status

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    111
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Tape status

    Sorry if this is not in the right correct sub forum. It maybe should have been out in the tape forum but I wasn't sure.

    Every night our BU runs and the next day two tapes needs to come out of the library and sent offsite. When I come in in the morning and run Q DRM there is one tape in a state of courier (this is the DB tape). The other tape (data tape) is in a state of mountable. At about 9:30 a script runs trying to move the data tape into the libraries I/O slot, but it fails. I'm thinking it fails because of the state. My question is what could be causing the data tape not appear as courier, like the DB tape? For now I have to manually move the data tape and remove it. Then I audit the library so it knows that tape is no longer in and will then allow that slot to be filled with a scratch tape. i don't need to audit if I just move the DB tape as i'm guessing courier state lets the library know the tape is gone.

    I'm still new to this TSM world but have finally been given time to learn, etc. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    111
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    To add:

    Since the DB tape is in courier state I remove it and manually run the move drmedia command to change the tape state to vault. I can run the command on the data tape this is in mountable state but it doesn't change the state. I have to run
    that command on the data tape after the audit is complete. It then will change the state.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    204
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Please post the contents of the 9:30 script so we may see what it is attempting to do.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    111
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Hi,

    The name of the script is "MOVEDRM". The content of the script is "move drm * wherestate=mountable tostate=courier wait=yes" (without the quotes). Looking at the script it appears to just try and change the state from mountable to courier but it fails, though in the log it looks like it's trying to checkout.

    I copied this from the act log for today's failure:
    01/27/2011 09:30:00 ANR0984I Process 142 for MOVE DRMEDIA started in the
    FOREGROUND at 09:30:00. (SESSION: 19777, PROCESS: 142)
    01/27/2011 09:30:00 ANR2753I (MOVEDRM):ANR0984I Process 142 for MOVE DRMEDIA
    started in (SESSION: 19777)
    01/27/2011 09:30:00 ANR0610I MOVE DRMEDIA started by ADMIN as process 142.
    (SESSION: 19777, PROCESS: 142)
    01/27/2011 09:30:00 ANR2753I (MOVEDRM):the FOREGROUND at 09:30:00. (SESSION:
    19777)
    01/27/2011 09:30:00 ANR0609I MOVE DRMEDIA started as process 142. (SESSION:
    19777, PROCESS: 142)
    01/27/2011 09:30:00 ANR2753I (MOVEDRM):ANR0610I MOVE DRMEDIA started by ADMIN
    as (SESSION: 19777)
    01/27/2011 09:30:00 ANR2753I (MOVEDRM)rocess 142. (SESSION: 19777)
    01/27/2011 09:30:00 ANR2753I (MOVEDRM):ANR0609I MOVE DRMEDIA started as
    process 142. (SESSION: 19777)
    01/27/2011 09:30:00 ANR6696I MOVE DRMEDIA: CHECKOUT LIBVOLUME for volume
    043AEOL4 in library TS3200 starting. (SESSION: 19777,
    more... (<ENTER> to continue, 'C' to cancel)
    PROCESS: 142)
    01/27/2011 09:30:00 ANR2753I (MOVEDRM):ANR6696I MOVE DRMEDIA: CHECKOUT
    LIBVOLUME for (SESSION: 19777)
    01/27/2011 09:30:00 ANR2753I (MOVEDRM):volume 043AEOL4 in library TS3200
    starting. (SESSION: 19777)
    01/27/2011 09:30:00 ANR8447E No drives are currently available in library
    TS3200. (SESSION: 19777, PROCESS: 142)
    01/27/2011 09:30:00 ANR6698E MOVE DRMEDIA: CHECKOUT LIBVOLUME for volume
    043AEOL4 in library TS3200 failed. (SESSION: 19777,
    PROCESS: 142)
    01/27/2011 09:30:00 ANR2753I (MOVEDRM):ANR6698E MOVE DRMEDIA: CHECKOUT
    LIBVOLUME for (SESSION: 19777)
    01/27/2011 09:30:00 ANR2753I (MOVEDRM):volume 043AEOL4 in library TS3200
    failed. (SESSION: 19777)
    01/27/2011 09:30:00 ANR6682I MOVE DRMEDIA command ended: 0 volumes processed.
    (SESSION: 19777, PROCESS: 142)
    01/27/2011 09:30:00 ANR0611I MOVE DRMEDIA started by ADMIN as process 142 has
    ended. (SESSION: 19777, PROCESS: 142)
    01/27/2011 09:30:00 ANR2753I (MOVEDRM):ANR6682I MOVE DRMEDIA command ended: 0
    volumes (SESSION: 19777)
    01/27/2011 09:30:00 ANR0985I Process 142 for MOVE DRMEDIA running in the
    FOREGROUND completed with completion state FAILURE at
    09:30:00. (SESSION: 19777, PROCESS: 142)
    01/27/2011 09:30:00 ANR2753I (MOVEDRM)rocessed. (SESSION: 19777)
    01/27/2011 09:30:00 ANR1463E RUN: Command script MOVEDRM completed in error.
    (SESSION: 19777, PROCESS: 142)
    01/27/2011 09:30:00 ANR2753I (MOVEDRM):ANR0611I MOVE DRMEDIA started by ADMIN
    as (SESSION: 19777)
    01/27/2011 09:30:00 ANR2753I (MOVEDRM)rocess 142 has ended. (SESSION:
    19777)
    01/27/2011 09:30:00 ANR2753I (MOVEDRM):ANR0985I Process 142 for MOVE DRMEDIA
    running in (SESSION: 19777)
    01/27/2011 09:30:00 ANR2753I (MOVEDRM):the FOREGROUND completed with
    completion state (SESSION: 19777)
    01/27/2011 09:30:00 ANR2753I (MOVEDRM):FAILURE at 09:30:00. (SESSION: 19777)
    01/27/2011 09:30:00 ANR2753I (MOVEDRM):ANR1463E RUN: Command script MOVEDRM
    completed (SESSION: 19777)
    01/27/2011 09:30:00 ANR2753I (MOVEDRM):in error. (SESSION: 19777)
    01/27/2011 09:30:00 ANR2752E Scheduled command MOVEDRM failed. (SESSION:
    19777, PROCESS: 142)

    Thanks

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    111
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Additionally,

    Both drives in the TS3200 show IDLE when this is happenning. Today I noticed however that there are tapes in both drives. I wonder if that is why the move fails.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    India
    Posts
    316
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts

    Default

    Yes, make sure you have free drives when you run DRM.


    01/27/2011 09:30:00 ANR2753I (MOVEDRM):ANR6696I MOVE DRMEDIA: CHECKOUT
    LIBVOLUME for (SESSION: 19777)
    01/27/2011 09:30:00 ANR2753I (MOVEDRM):volume 043AEOL4 in library TS3200
    starting. (SESSION: 19777)
    01/27/2011 09:30:00 ANR8447E No drives are currently available in library
    TS3200. (SESSION: 19777, PROCESS: 142)
    01/27/2011 09:30:00 ANR6698E MOVE DRMEDIA: CHECKOUT LIBVOLUME for volume
    043AEOL4 in library TS3200 failed. (SESSION: 19777,
    PROCESS: 142)

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    111
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    So I come in this morning and have 2 tapes in courier state. One is the DB tape and the other is the data tape. I checked the library and there were no tapes in either drives. That was like an hour ago. I just checked and while there is no process currently going on there is now a tape in each of the 2 drives. I'm going to guess the move fails but only time will tell. I'll let you know.

    We are going to replace our TS3200 library with a larger one this year. With more slots and drives I'm hoping this issue resolves itself.

    Thanks

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    111
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Yep, the moved failed. This time I think it was because the tape was in courier and not mountable state.

    Can I append more to the end of the script via ISC and and add another line to it in the contect section "move drm * wherestate=courier tostate=courier wait=yes" without the quotes. So that the contents section will look like:

    move drm * wherestate=mountable tostate=courier wait=yes
    move drm * wherestate=courier tostate=courier wait=yes

    Thanks

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    111
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Since the data tape was in courier state when I had to manually remove it I didn't have to audit the library to be able to completely fill it with scratch tapes. I'm hoping the new library (will have 6 drives and like 144 slots) will resolve this auditing thing I need to do at times.

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    53
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    I sent you a private message. Scripts that I use are to large to post here.

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    111
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    I replied to your PM. I'm going home for the weekend and will check Monday AM.

    Thanks

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    111
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    I come in this morning to see some courier tapes. I check and one of them is not a DB tape. I check the I/O slots and the the non DB tape which is at courier state has moved to the I/O slot. Now I'm guessing my script may be OK and the issue is drives being in use when move drm command is run. Who knows for sure.

    I'll be glad when the new library comes in.

Similar Threads

  1. monitoring tape status
    By bisaal46 in forum TSM Server
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-20-2008, 12:59 PM
  2. Tape Status
    By OKTSMGURU21 in forum Tape / Media Library
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-13-2008, 07:02 PM
  3. Tape Status Full
    By sunnyonwww in forum Tape / Media Library
    Replies: 39
    Last Post: 08-22-2007, 11:01 AM
  4. Tape Status
    By eperez507 in forum Capacity Planning
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-11-2007, 02:03 PM
  5. Tape status and wherestates
    By gatorscott in forum Tape / Media Library
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-27-2006, 08:14 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •