Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default TSM 6.2 Initialisation Wizard Fails - TSM Logon Information

    This might be an 'oldie' but I've not seen it in any of the recent threads so I thought I ask, apologies in advance if this is a 'sticky' or anything.

    I've just set up TSM 6.2.1.1 on a Windows 2003 R2 x64 server and the initialisation wizard fails -

    ANRU1203E failed to communicate with Server1 using the following parameters

    Update the server options file if necessary


    I've done some digging around and can't find anything on this ANR number, and it looks like the DB2 and TSM services have failed to start after initialisation - which would explain why the wizard can't log on.

    Has anyone seen this before? Is it a case of the wizard just not working and I have to do this manually from the command line, or is there something I need to do before running the wizard?

    Thanks



    Shaun

  2. #2
    Senior Member DanGiles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Ont. Canada
    Posts
    545
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    What account are you running things from? TSM/DB2 has to be started using the TSM INSTANCE account, not the root/Administrator account. (Sorry if you already knew this, but that's what it sounds like.)
    Daniel R. Giles
    Sileg Consulting Inc.
    416.402.9744 dan.giles@sileg.com
    http://www.linkedin.com/in/sileg

  3. #3
    Newcomer
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    I'm having the same problem as you (exactly the same as far as I can see). Did you ever find the solution?

    Many thanks,

    David

  4. #4
    Newcomer
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    @DanGiles I'm logged on as Administrator. I'm not very good with Windows, so I'm not sure about the subtleties of running as a different user. What exactly do you mean?

    Thanks!

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Sorry guys, I've not logged on here for ages and only just seen this. The answer was to log on as the service account and ensure that the account had ownership and permissions of the directories used for DB, actlog, actlogmirror, archlog, archlogfailover. The user also needs to be be a member of the DB2 Users and DB2 Admins groups.


    Shaun

Similar Threads

  1. Installing TSM V6.2.1 using the WIZARD.
    By tsmnovice in forum TSM Server
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-06-2010, 01:39 PM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-05-2010, 08:16 AM
  3. Replies: 21
    Last Post: 09-11-2009, 09:54 AM
  4. TSM client 6.1 - setup wizard
    By MB_TSM in forum TSM Client
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-25-2009, 04:19 AM
  5. Storage agent cannot logon to TSM server
    By Fattire in forum Backup / Archive Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-20-2008, 03:08 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •