Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default CLI scripting question ....

    For consistency, we have scripted the installation of TSM on our Linux servers. A fairly trivial task. I am now being asked to extend the script to automatically verify that TSM is functioning correctly. For the most part, this is also trivial if it's an upgrade to an exiting TSM installation. For installation on a new node, additional input is required and I have not been able to figure out which options (if any) to use. On every server, it asks for the node name and the PW for the node. Which options would handle those? On servers that are running e-Directory from Novell, I am also prompted for the local admin ID and PW. Are there options to provide those as well? Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Moderator moon-buddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Somewhere in the US
    Posts
    5,914
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 231 Times in 226 Posts

    Default

    It is easy to script setting up TSM clients on servers but not that straightforward when trying to run dsmc for the first time so that passwords can be saved on the node.

    The TSM environment 'lives' on its own and would not readily accept parsed information from an external, OS level script. To cut the chase, I haven't found a practical foolproof way of entering NODE NAMES and PASSWORDS.

    Anyone?
    Last edited by moon-buddy; 09-17-2010 at 01:57 PM.
    Ed

  3. #3
    Senior Member THE_WIPET's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    562
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    i know that in windoze... it can done with a vbscript. I've automatated my client configuration throught a HTA/vbscript application... i'll ask my unix admin if he was able to "pass" the login and password into a script.

    Will be back on monday with the answer

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    32
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    If it's just a shell script, after the client is configured on the TSM server and node, you can add a line to set the password with:

    dsmc set password <oldpassword> <newpassword>

    eg. if the password is adsm123:

    dsmc set password adsm123 adsm123

  5. #5
    Moderator moon-buddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Somewhere in the US
    Posts
    5,914
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 231 Times in 226 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Canuck View Post
    If it's just a shell script, after the client is configured on the TSM server and node, you can add a line to set the password with:

    dsmc set password <oldpassword> <newpassword>

    eg. if the password is adsm123:

    dsmc set password adsm123 adsm123
    I think you missed one point - how do you register the node for the first time assuming registration type = closed?
    Ed

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    32
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Hmm, might not fully understand the question, but in our environment we have closed registration and just use dsmadmc in the install script to register the node / set the password on the TSM server. At the end of the script, dsmc sets the password on the node. With Windows the password can be set using dsmcutil.

  7. #7
    Senior Member Jeff_Jeske's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Stevens Point, WI
    Posts
    485
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    I made a batch file to register nodes on tsm servers. You pass it your username and password during the launch and it saves those items to perform additional queries. It also shows you a node count per schedule allowing you to better balance your backup load. In this case you feed it a default password like SECRET and it will change that password in 90 days. Program is called REGNODE.

    I would go to the command line and run the following command:

    REGNODE MYUSERNAME MYPASSWORD MYNODENAME NODESCHEDULE

    This is the batch file:

    echo off
    cd "C:\program files\tivoli\tsm\baclient"
    :start
    dsmadmc -optfile=tsm1dsm.opt -id=%1 -pa=%2 select count(*) as nodes, schedule_name from associations group by schedule_name order by nodes
    set choice=
    set /p choice=Do you want to keep %4 (Y/N):
    if '%choice%'=='n' goto finsih
    if '%choice%'=='y' goto install
    if '%choice%'=='N' goto finsih
    if '%choice%'=='Y' goto install
    goto finsih
    :install
    dsmadmc -optfile=tsm1dsm.opt -id=%1 -pa=%2 reg node %3 SECRET PASSEXP=90 USERID=none DOMAIN=STANDARD CLOPTSET=WINDOWS FORCEPWRESET=NO
    dsmadmc -optfile=tsm1dsm.opt -id=%1 -pa=%2 def assoc standard %4 %3
    :finsih

    Jeff Jeske - Sentry Insurance Storage Engineer
    IBM Certified Advanced Deployment Professional
    SNIA Certified Storage Engineer
    EMC Proven Professional
    ITIL Certified

    Sometimes the more you know... the harder it is to make a good decision!

  8. #8
    Senior Member Jeff_Jeske's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Stevens Point, WI
    Posts
    485
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    When installing the client on the server I use another script to detect what version of OS it is, whether it's test or prod, and what kind of storage it goes to. I then feed it to this:

    msiexec /i "z:\tsm_images\IBM Tivoli Storage Manager Client.msi" RebootYesNo="No" REBOOT="Suppress" ALLUSERS=1 INSTALLDIR="c:\program files\tivoli\tsm" ADDLOCAL="BackupArchiveGUI,BackupArchiveWeb,ApiRun time" TRANSFORMS=1033.mst /qn"
    call notepad.exe "c:\program files\tivoli\tsm\baclient\dsm.opt"
    C:
    cd "c:\program files\tivoli\tsm\baclient"
    set P=SECRET
    dsmcutil install scheduler /name:"TSM Scheduler Service" /node:%1 /password:%P% /autostart:no /startnow:no
    dsmcutil install cad /name:"TSM Client Acceptor" /node:%1 /password:%P% /autostart:yes /startnow:no
    dsmcutil update cad /name:"TSM Client Acceptor" /cadschedname:"TSM Scheduler Service"
    dsmcutil install remoteagent /name:"TSM Remote Client Agent" /node:%1 /password:%P% /partnername:"TSM Client Acceptor" /startnow:no
    dsmcutil start /name:"TSM Client Acceptor"
    pause
    dsmc q sched
    pause
    dsm.exe
    %SystemRoot%\explorer.exe "C:\program files\tivoli\tsm\baclient"
    net use z: /delete
    exit

    The above script allows you to customize your options file - then queries the schedule and opens the GUI to ensure comms with the server and functional passwords/schedules.

    Jeff Jeske - Sentry Insurance Storage Engineer
    IBM Certified Advanced Deployment Professional
    SNIA Certified Storage Engineer
    EMC Proven Professional
    ITIL Certified

    Sometimes the more you know... the harder it is to make a good decision!

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Jeff - Your comments would help out a lot if I had administrative access to the backend. Unfortunately, I'm a consumer, so use of dsmadmc command is not possible.

Similar Threads

  1. Scripting question
    By Fattire in forum Microsoft SQL Server
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 03-18-2009, 04:11 PM
  2. Scripting question on total GB Backed up
    By dreamz in forum Scripting
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 01-30-2009, 12:25 PM
  3. scripting question - is this possible?
    By spiffy in forum Scripting
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-01-2008, 05:02 PM
  4. Scripting question
    By thefarside in forum Scripting
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 06-13-2008, 10:21 AM
  5. scripting with a list as input question
    By rtclouse in forum Scripting
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-17-2008, 10:14 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •