Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Newcomer
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Angry No Local Resources to backup!!

    We have just had a TSM Server installed for us and have currently installed the Backup \ Archive Client (6.3.1) on 15 Windows clients (all 32bit) without a problem. I have now installed a 64bit client on 2 servers and both say they have installed successfully.

    The problem I have is that when I load the Backup GUI on 1 of the 64bit clients there are no "Local" resources - ie a C:\ visible to select for backup - image attached.

    I have 1 64 bit client installed and local resources are visible.

    I have uninstalled and reinstalled with no luck.

    Can anyone shed any light on my very strange issue??

    Thanks and regards

    Mike
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Stamford, CT
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Hi there,

    This could be a possible APAR. I found some while researching on this.

    IC61326
    IC62418

    What do you see in the dsmerror.log?
    Have you tried doing a dsmc incr from the command line client and see if it backs up the C:\?

    You can run a client trace as well before actually starting the TSM GUI , then open the GUI, close it and check the trace file. That should shed some light on this issue. This could be a possible candidate for an APAR

    Regards,
    Sri

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    204
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    What version of windows are you running? In 2008 the default is to lock down the server. So if you have not turned off user access then this can limit how TSM works. I ran into this and was not able to see the drives but once I ran TSM as administrator all was good.

  4. #4
    Newcomer
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Thanks for the reply both.

    I'm running Windows 2008 on both 64 bit servers and both are members of a Microsoft File Cluster.

    I installed the BA client on both machines, using the same credentials (Fuzzballer, you are correct you will have trouble with UAC on W2k8 if not installing as an admin) and the install went fine. I can see the local resources on 1 server but not the other and both servers are identical hardware ( HP ProLiant BL685c G1, 32gb mem ).

    When I firstly installed the BA Client I then went and installed the cluster parts of the TSM Agent to back up cluster resources.

    I can see, backup and restore to, the cluster resource drives on BOTH servers but not see the local drive on one of the servers !!!

    Sri

    the dsmerror log is empty but I like the idea of the trace file. Can you tell my how I do as you suggest.

    Many thanks

    Mike

Similar Threads

  1. Incremental Backup Error - ANS9999E - Insufficient system resources
    By jasondrummond in forum Backup / Archive Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-10-2009, 01:05 PM
  2. Backup Local Drives in a cluster server
    By khawts in forum Backup / Archive Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-21-2008, 11:34 AM
  3. Local Backup Sets
    By Ray in forum Backup / Archive Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-21-2006, 04:55 PM
  4. Backup consuming system resources
    By dhess62 in forum TSM Client
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 05-05-2006, 03:30 PM
  5. Exclude Local drives from backup
    By kim_mitchell in forum Backup / Archive Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-30-2004, 05:03 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •