Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    58
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Windows Clustering setup without failover?

    I am setting up TSM on a Windows cluster that has a fair amount of differnent resources and not easily failed over for several different reasons.

    I have the local (physical nodes) setup and each one with the resources it currently owns setup with the scheduler, but my question is this:

    Is it at all possible to setup the scheduler on the cluster nodes that are not currently owning the shared resource?

    Sorry if this sounds confusing, but if there is a way to do this it would help me GREATLY.
    Thank in advance for any advice.

  2. #2
    Senior Member GregE's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    2,100
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 17 Times in 16 Posts

    Default

    If I remember right from my last attempt where I was not on the server that owns the resources, it would fail because it couldn't locate the dsm.opt file.

    Quick offhand thought you could pursue, I suppose you could try it by putting the dsm.opt file somewhere accessible, running the dsmcutil command pointing to it with /optfile, then go into the registry and change the path to what you need it to actually be for production use. I'm not sure if this is all you would need to do, but its just a quick thought.

    You're not going to know if this works until you failover to this box though, but maybe this can be a starting point to think of other possibilities.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    58
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Thats actually a good idea. I wonder if I could export the reg key off one of the owning nodes and import onto the non-owning ones.
    Like you said though, no way of knowing if it will work untill it actually fails over.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    288
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    It won't work, if you have clusternode=yes in dsm.opt then it will expect the drives in that config file to be online. If the host doesn't own the resources, then the backup will fail. If you change to clusternode=no it will not process any drives that are part of a cluster at all. Doesn't matter where the dsm.opt file is, if the drive is not accessible, it's not going to backup.
    Michael
    TSM Admin since ADSM v2... wow, I'm not even that old yet either!

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    I have a few cluster nodes that don't fail much and I've set them up as 'stand alone' that way. OR I set the clients up ahead of time then have the other admins do the resource config at a later time.

    Here is what I do:
    Second/Offline Node work around (note: in this example R:\TSM for tsm config/logs etc..
    ----------------------------------------------------------
    [Options 1]
    net use r: \\<current-owner-physical-name>\r$
    Run ALL steps for normal config/service install etc.
    - Expected R:\TSM folder exists as far as local TSM install is concerned. Keeping both installs the same.
    net use r: /d

    [Options 2]
    mkdir c:\temp\tsm
    subst R: c:\temp

    copy dsm.opt/config files into c:\temp\tsm
    - Run ALL steps for normal config/service install etc. again R:\TSM exists for the install.
    subst R: /d


    This is only part of the setup needed for a fail over but it helps me to get some of it done during my update/change window to the point I can at least run a manual. Many times systems 'slip' into production before everything is done.

    Good luck...

Similar Threads

  1. SAN/ LAN FREE Windows Setup
    By adrianc in forum Backup / Archive Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-17-2009, 08:06 AM
  2. Windows Cluster failover node locked
    By hellow123 in forum Backup / Archive Discussion
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 02-17-2009, 09:07 PM
  3. Setup Tsm On Windows 2003
    By quangkhuong7255 in forum TSM Installation, Upgrade and Configuration
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-21-2008, 10:51 AM
  4. TS3500 with TS1120 drive setup clarification in Windows
    By jharris in forum Tape / Media Library
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-27-2007, 10:01 AM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-03-2006, 09:31 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •