Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Senior Member Stephan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Great White North
    Posts
    642
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default LTO3 and LTO4 tapes in a LTO4 "library"

    Hi.

    We are migrating to a new library with all LTO4 drives. I created a Device Class for LTO4s and labeled some tapes. I'd like though, to use my LTO3s for long term vaulting such as backupsets...

    I thought, i'd create a LTO3 devclass, then when generating the backupset with the option deviceclass LTO3 that i would mount a LTO3 tape and write to it...But no.

    The behavior i am seeing, is that it mounts every single LTO4 scratch tape, fails on it and puts it in a "private" status to prevent reuse...! Then, when it finally reaches a LTO3, it starts...It seems to grab the LTO4 first, since the are numbered for example 110000L4 whereas the LTO3 are 700000L3. So it looks like it grabs the "smallest" numbered tapes first...

    So, what are Device Class for then? I thought, that when labelling the tape, TSM would "know" that he just labeled a LTO3 thus picking one up right away when i specify to use LTO3 devlclass?

    If not, apart from scripting it...any ideas?

    Thanks.
    and all that could have been...

  2. #2
    Member JeanSeb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Quebec City
    Posts
    181
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Default

    Could you post "q devc f=d" just to eliminate the obvious ?

  3. #3
    Senior Member Stephan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Great White North
    Posts
    642
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Sure thing...! Are you doing something similar?


    Device Class Name: T950_LTO3_DEVCLASS
    Device Access Strategy: Sequential
    Storage Pool Count: 0
    Device Type: LTO
    Format: ULTRIUM3C
    Est/Max Capacity (MB): 819,200.0
    Mount Limit: DRIVES
    Mount Wait (min): 30
    Mount Retention (min): 2
    Label Prefix: ADSM
    Library: T950
    Directory:
    Server Name:
    Retry Period:
    Retry Interval:
    Shared:
    High-level Address:
    Minimum Capacity:
    WORM: No
    Drive Encryption: Allow
    Scaled Capacity:
    Last Update by (administrator): DURS
    Last Update Date/Time: 01/18/2010 08:45:28

    Device Class Name: T950_LTO4_DEVCLASS
    Device Access Strategy: Sequential
    Storage Pool Count: 1
    Device Type: LTO
    Format: ULTRIUM4C
    Est/Max Capacity (MB): 1,638,400.0
    Mount Limit: DRIVES
    Mount Wait (min): 30
    Mount Retention (min): 2
    Label Prefix: ADSM
    Library: T950
    Directory:
    Server Name:
    Retry Period:
    Retry Interval:
    Shared:
    High-level Address:
    Minimum Capacity:
    WORM: No
    Drive Encryption: Allow
    Scaled Capacity:
    Last Update by (administrator): DURS
    Last Update Date/Time: 01/18/2010 08:46:11
    and all that could have been...

  4. #4
    Member JeanSeb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Quebec City
    Posts
    181
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Stephan View Post
    Sure thing...! Are you doing something similar?
    I do, but did not experience the same problems.
    I just thought maybe your entered the wrong Device type in your class...
    Aside from that, I don't know, sorry

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Greater Toronto Area Canada
    Posts
    410
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Default Lto3

    I seem to recall when testing TKLM (encryption) that LTO4 drives cannot encrypt LTO3 tapes. This may be an issue for you if you are using Drive Encryption. Or it may not be related to your issue at all. Have you tried turning off encryption and then running your process?

  6. #6
    Senior Member GregE's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    2,100
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 17 Times in 16 Posts

    Default

    Stephan, Chapter 5 of this redbook has some excellent info on mixed generation implementations. Around page 215...
    http://www.redbooks.ibm.com/abstracts/sg246502.html

    Someone in this forum had a long thread going a few months back. Almost positive it was Mikeymac, and this thread, which is not as it once was, with "****muzzled****" all over it for some reason.
    http://adsm.org/forum/showthread.php?t=17196

  7. #7
    Senior Member Stephan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Great White North
    Posts
    642
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Thank you for the information. I will go ahead and give that redbook a look. I've also placed a support call with IBM...We'll see what they say.

    rallingham: I did notice that drive encryption is "allowed" in my config...Don't know if it would do anything by will try to change it to see...

    Thanks.
    and all that could have been...

Similar Threads

  1. scalar i500 +LTO3 or LTO4
    By mabdullah in forum Tape / Media Library
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-11-2008, 08:44 AM
  2. "Mountable" tapes are going straight to "Vault retrieve"
    By c!w in forum Disaster Recovery Module
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-27-2008, 07:16 AM
  3. 4mm tapes versus LTO3 / LTO4 tapes
    By o_q8 in forum Tape / Media Library
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-01-2008, 10:52 AM
  4. LTO3 to LTO4
    By Miller in forum Tape / Media Library
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-24-2008, 02:03 PM
  5. LTO3 or LTO4 ?
    By TomLa in forum Tape / Media Library
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-10-2007, 02:53 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •