Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default System state not in copy pool

    Hi All

    I recently rolled out TSM 5.5 for my company and last week we did a DR test one of our sites to ensure the rollout was successfull. However I couldn't restore any system states as the restore was trying to find them on the Primary Storage Pool (which had been destroyed) and not the copy pool (on tape).

    The DR people at the centre said it was bug within TSM the the system states don't copy from the primary in the copy pools and to run the following command to find out what hasn't copied:

    q content F:\<primary pool location> node=<nodename> copied=no

    On running this I can see that all my system states are not copying to the copy pools and to tape to get stored offsite which is obvisouly and issue when it comes to restore.

    Has anybody else had this and know if it can be fixed?

    Thanks
    Phill
    (newbie)

  2. #2
    Moderator moon-buddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Somewhere in the US
    Posts
    5,903
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 231 Times in 226 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JOAMON View Post
    Hi All

    I recently rolled out TSM 5.5 for my company and last week we did a DR test one of our sites to ensure the rollout was successfull. However I couldn't restore any system states as the restore was trying to find them on the Primary Storage Pool (which had been destroyed) and not the copy pool (on tape).

    The DR people at the centre said it was bug within TSM the the system states don't copy from the primary in the copy pools and to run the following command to find out what hasn't copied:

    q content F:\<primary pool location> node=<nodename> copied=no

    On running this I can see that all my system states are not copying to the copy pools and to tape to get stored offsite which is obvisouly and issue when it comes to restore.

    Has anybody else had this and know if it can be fixed?

    Thanks
    Phill
    (newbie)
    Do you have just the base install of 5.5? Or have you patched it to 5.5.2 (I believe is the latest; I maybe wrong)?

    Edit: 5.5.3 is the latest for the TSM server.
    Ed

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    208
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    It would have been nice if they had given also a bug reference. That would have made live much easier. I have checked the IBM site but my search came up empty.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Thanks for replies - i'm running version 5.5.2, don't get any issues with other files just systemstate.

  5. #5

    Default

    In our test environment I've backed up the system state and runned a backup stgpool. Both filespaces SYSTEMSTATE and ASR are backed up to the copypool. A q content copied=no did not list any files (it did BEFORE the backup stgpool of course) and q content of primary and copypool volumes are identical. I've tested on TSM V5.5.2 on AIX and with a Windows 2003 client.

    Backup stgpool is working as expected in this setup, also for the SYSTEMSTATE of a Windows machine.

    If this is not a bug (no problem at all) than that's the explanation why you cannot find it at IBM support . Let your 'DR People' explain the so-called known problem they're referring to.

    Maybe you want to check your environment and TSM setup one more time, or perform the same test on another TSM level or Windows OS version.
    Best regards,
    Tommy Hueber
    http://www.tsmblog.org

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Thanks for doing that Syntax44, that setup sounds exactly the same as mine, i have 10 TSM servers around the country on a windows platform backing up only windows platforms, on version 5.5.2 and none of them copy the system states from the primary storage or overflow pools to the copy pool on tape.

    Scoured the internet and can't really find any reference to the issue

    Think i'll log a call with IBM, thanks.

  7. #7
    Moderator moon-buddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Somewhere in the US
    Posts
    5,903
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 231 Times in 226 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JOAMON View Post
    Thanks for doing that Syntax44, that setup sounds exactly the same as mine, i have 10 TSM servers around the country on a windows platform backing up only windows platforms, on version 5.5.2 and none of them copy the system states from the primary storage or overflow pools to the copy pool on tape.

    Scoured the internet and can't really find any reference to the issue

    Think i'll log a call with IBM, thanks.
    Check the sequence of how you are backing up to offsite pools.

    Do you do 1) a backup of the diskpool to copy pool, 2) migrate the disk pool to the online tape pool, and 3) backup online tape pool to copy pool (just in case there are remnants because of threshold issues)?
    Ed

  8. #8
    Moderator BBB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    2,075
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

    Default

    Do you direct the system state backups to a primary pool that does not get backed up to copypool?

    Can you post the output of "q stg" and your admin scripts that do your stgpool backups?

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-26-2008, 11:07 AM
  2. Backing up ASR, System State, System Services
    By kfiresmith in forum Backup / Archive Discussion
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 12-20-2007, 06:47 PM
  3. System State,System Services - Backed up in full?
    By mikeymac in forum Backup / Archive Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-25-2007, 02:56 PM
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-10-2007, 02:35 AM
  5. VSS Error when backing up W2k3 System State and System Service
    By janacarvalho in forum Backup / Archive Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-04-2007, 07:31 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •