Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Backup-Set Size

  1. #1
    Newcomer
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Backup-Set Size

    Hi all,

    I was wondering if there's a way to determine the size of a successfully completed backup-set?

    We recently completed a backup-set and it was written to about 10 tapes (400GB in size); however, I don't think it's too accurate because the amount of data should not have really exceeded more than 800GB.

    Thanks in advance!

    Kind regards,

    siccness

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    212
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    select node_name, sum(logical_mb) as Data_In_MB, sum(num_files) as Num_of_files from occupancy where node_name='YOUR_NODE'

  3. #3
    Senior Member DanGiles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Ont. Canada
    Posts
    542
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    No, that won't work because backup sets only contain the active data at the time the set was generated. So, on a 'normal' file server, the size of the backup set should be <= the amount of data on the server.

    There are a number of reasons you may see more than you are expecting: are you compressing at the client? Do you do image backups? Are you using TDP agents with the same name as the client node?
    Daniel R. Giles
    Sileg Consulting Inc.
    416.402.9744 dan.giles@sileg.com
    http://www.linkedin.com/in/sileg

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    212
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    select cast(capacity/100*pct_util as integer) from filespaces where node_name='YOUR_NODE'
    will give you approx the size in MB of filesystems on the client
    as there are maybe some exclusions, you will have the greatest size in MB for active data's
    is hard compression enabled on the drive ?

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    212
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    to estimate active data size, you can also try an export preview=y
    on the generate backupset command, check if you used datatype correctly for your purpose
    About tdp data's, only exchange and sql can be included in a backupset
    node_name is unique on tsm server

Similar Threads

  1. AFTD record size / block size / write size mismatch
    By StevieOnsite in forum EMC NetWorker
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-24-2008, 09:36 AM
  2. Backup Set of a Filespace
    By gmoores11 in forum Backup / Archive Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-30-2008, 10:27 AM
  3. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 09-20-2007, 07:34 AM
  4. backup size larger than server size
    By daveisme in forum Backup / Archive Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-22-2007, 07:59 PM
  5. Backup set
    By axeman-66 in forum Backup / Archive Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-22-2006, 03:18 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •