Results 1 to 22 of 22
  1. #1
    Senior Member cwilloug's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    North Dakota
    Posts
    384
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

    Question Path being taken offline

    I have 2 IBM N3600 NAS, each with 6 paths via a switch zoned to tape drives in my TS3500 library, backing up with NDMP. Things have been running smoothly since I figured out the NDMP backup configs, until yesterday. Yesterday morning I came into work and found that one of the paths to the library drives had been taken offline. I checked the connections to the NAS, Switch, and library - all ok, so I used the ISC to place the path back on-line.

    This morning I came into work, and the same path, same drive, was offline, a quick search of the actlog found......

    06/16/2009 19:05:19 ANR8471E Server no longer polling drive DRIVE08 in library
    3500LIB - path /dev/rmt13 will be marked off-line.
    (SESSION: 61712, PROCESS: 481)
    06/16/2009 19:05:19 ANR8873E The path from source N3600FS2 to destination
    DRIVE08 (/dev/rmt13) is taken offline. (SESSION: 61712,
    PROCESS: 481)

    Then a look at the errpt on my TSM AIX box found.....

    IDENTIFIER TIMESTAMP T C RESOURCE_NAME DESCRIPTION
    476B351D 0616190309 P H rmt13 TAPE DRIVE FAILURE
    A7AB4C8F 0616190309 I H rmt13 TAPE SIM/MIM RECORD
    476B351D 0616190309 P H rmt13 TAPE DRIVE FAILURE
    A7AB4C8F 0616190309 I H rmt13 TAPE SIM/MIM RECORD
    476B351D 0616183309 P H rmt13 TAPE DRIVE FAILURE
    476B351D 0616183309 P H rmt13 TAPE DRIVE FAILURE
    A7AB4C8F 0616052909 I H rmt11 TAPE SIM/MIM RECORD
    A7AB4C8F 0616052509 I H rmt11 TAPE SIM/MIM RECORD
    E507DCF9 0616052509 I H rmt11 TAPE DRIVE NEEDS CLEANING
    A7AB4C8F 0616015709 I H rmt17 TAPE SIM/MIM RECORD

    Wow, a tape drive failure,,, hummmm.. but if there was a tape drive failure, why was only the path, and not the drive taken off-line?

    tsm: TSM>q path

    Source Name Source Type Destination Destination On-Line
    Name Type
    ----------- ----------- ----------- ----------- -------
    TSM SERVER 3500LIB LIBRARY Yes
    TSM SERVER DRIVE01 DRIVE Yes
    TSM SERVER DRIVE02 DRIVE Yes
    TSM SERVER DRIVE03 DRIVE Yes
    TSM SERVER DRIVE04 DRIVE Yes
    TSM SERVER DRIVE05 DRIVE Yes
    TSM SERVER DRIVE06 DRIVE Yes
    TSM SERVER DRIVE07 DRIVE Yes
    TSM SERVER DRIVE08 DRIVE Yes
    N3600FS2 DATAMOVER DRIVE02 DRIVE Yes
    N3600FS2 DATAMOVER DRIVE03 DRIVE Yes
    N3600FS2 DATAMOVER DRIVE04 DRIVE Yes
    N3600FS2 DATAMOVER DRIVE06 DRIVE Yes
    N3600FS2 DATAMOVER DRIVE07 DRIVE Yes
    N3600FS2 DATAMOVER DRIVE08 DRIVE No
    N3600_FS1 DATAMOVER DRIVE01 DRIVE Yes
    N3600_FS1 DATAMOVER DRIVE02 DRIVE Yes
    N3600_FS1 DATAMOVER DRIVE03 DRIVE Yes
    N3600_FS1 DATAMOVER DRIVE05 DRIVE Yes
    N3600_FS1 DATAMOVER DRIVE06 DRIVE Yes
    N3600_FS1 DATAMOVER DRIVE07 DRIVE Yes

    tsm: TSM>q drive

    Library Name Drive Name Device Type On-Line
    ------------ ------------ ----------- -------------------
    3500LIB DRIVE01 3592 Yes
    3500LIB DRIVE02 3592 Yes
    3500LIB DRIVE03 3592 Yes
    3500LIB DRIVE04 3592 Yes
    3500LIB DRIVE05 3592 Yes
    3500LIB DRIVE06 3592 Yes
    3500LIB DRIVE07 3592 Yes
    3500LIB DRIVE08 3592 Yes

    Looking at the Library drive errors, I did find an error on Drive08 with a tape that is not used for the NAS Storage Pool at the time the path went off-line.

    So why would an error, with a tape not in the NAS pool, cause the NAS drive path to go off-line, and not the drive?

    Anyone?

  2. #2
    Member micha's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    103
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    I had exactly the same problem a week ago with our TS3500 and LTO3 drives after I upgraded the drive microcodes. I could put the problem drive online but as soon it was accessed by tsm, it was set to offline again.

    I helped myself with power cycling the problem drive.

  3. #3
    Senior Member cwilloug's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    North Dakota
    Posts
    384
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

    Default

    Humm,,, I'll try that later today, but the drive was used off and on yesterday - after I brought the path back online, but the drive itself stayed online, the drive never went off-line, just the datamover path.

  4. #4
    Member micha's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    103
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cwilloug View Post
    Humm,,, I'll try that later today, but the drive was used off and on yesterday - after I brought the path back online, but the drive itself stayed online, the drive never went off-line, just the datamover path.
    Sorry, I meant the path, not the drive

  5. #5
    Newcomer
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Such problems seem to occur regularly with TS3500, would be interesting to know how you can avoid that. I think I would go nuts if I found the drive offline in the morning. I am not a calm guy and things like this make me really angry.

  6. #6
    Senior Member cwilloug's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    North Dakota
    Posts
    384
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

    Default

    ummm,,,, ok. Thanks angus, you have been very very helpful.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    450
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cwilloug View Post
    Humm,,, I'll try that later today, but the drive was used off and on yesterday - after I brought the path back online, but the drive itself stayed online, the drive never went off-line, just the datamover path.
    This could indicates a bad drive or a drive about to fail. TSM normally took the path offline then the drive offline. Power cycle seems to help for a short duration but you still needs to put the path back online after power cycling. Additionally, make certain all the drives are on the same firmware.

    I experienced this some time back, when I first started w/TSM and it drove me nuts, and basically it was a bad drive and I contacted our vendor support to replace the drive.


    Mike

  8. #8
    Senior Member cwilloug's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    North Dakota
    Posts
    384
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

    Default

    Turned out to be a bad drive,,, with a tape stuck in the drive too. Funny behavior, in the past when a tape has be stuck in any drive, the drive goes offline, not the path.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    39
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    hi,

    I have almost the same problem, I have TSM 5.5.3.0 on linux 64bit,
    my problem is that after I have installed qlogic lib files, he start take my path of line with this error :

    07/12/2009 06:00:06 ANR8963E Unable to find path to match the serial number
    defined for drive LTO4A in library 3584LIB . (SESSION:
    874, PROCESS: 13)
    07/12/2009 06:00:06 ANR8873E The path from source ARES to destination LTO4A
    (/dev/IBMtape0) is taken offline. (SESSION: 874, PROCESS:
    13)

    but the serial if ok i checked it over and over again.
    some one have a solution to this matter?

  10. #10
    Member lweron's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Westmont IL
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    I had the a similar problem last week after patching TSM from 5.5.2 to 5.5.3 on Red Hat Linux 5.3 64bit.
    It would disable the path to the drives, but the drives would still be listed as online. Also in the actlog TSM would complain about being unable to open the /etc/hba.conf file. This file is used for fibre libraries. I have a TS3310 scsi library. I ended up re-installing TSM 5.2.2 and recovering from my previous backup. Everything works fine now. So I think there is a bug in the 5.5.3 patch, that only looks for fibre drives.

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    39
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Hi Lweron,
    Thanks for the reply,
    It’s seems to be that we have the same issue with the TSM.
    In my case I can’t reinstall my TSM Server so I have opened a PMR in IBM for this issue.
    This is one of the errors that I got in the "act log" for one path (I get it to the entire 6 path that I have in my TSM).
    ANR8873E The path from source ARES to destination LTO4C
    (/dev/IBMtape2) is taken offline. (SESSION: 2016,
    PROCESS: 17)
    About the hba.conf I have configured it with the latest hba lib files.
    And no luck.. still happen

  12. #12
    Member lweron's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Westmont IL
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Did Ibm provide any solutions for this problem, let us know if they do. Thanks.

  13. #13
    Senior Member cwilloug's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    North Dakota
    Posts
    384
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

    Default

    lweron - 2 weeks ago I posted...

    Turned out to be a bad drive,,, with a tape stuck in the drive too. Funny behavior, in the past when a tape has be stuck in any drive, the drive goes offline, not the path.

    so I guess the IBM provided solution was to replace the bad drive, and now the earth is once again safe for all humans


    .....and their data

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    39
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Hi,
    Not yet but I have made a trace log for the system and sent it to them to analyze it.

    when they will provide a solution I will update this Thread.


  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    286
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default A7ab4c8f 3592_x tape sim/mim record

    Dear All,

    I have the same problem but no drives offline.
    Yesterday i upgrade TSM 5.5.2 to 5.5.3
    On aix i have the message :
    LABEL: TAPE_SIM_MIM_RECORD
    IDENTIFIER: A7AB4C8F
    Date/Time: Thu Jul 30 09:25:40 CEST 2009
    Sequence Number: 674
    Machine Id: 00CE69834C00
    Node Id: xxxxxxxxxx
    Class: H
    Type: INFO
    Resource Name: 3592_6_1
    Resource Class: tape
    Resource Type: 3592
    Location: U7311.D20.653071C-P1-C06-T1-W500507630F986C06-L0
    VPD:
    Manufacturer................IBM
    Machine Type and Model......03592E05
    Serial Number...............000007835690
    Device Specific.(FW)........1DD1
    Loadable Microcode Level....A1700D5C
    Description
    AAA0
    Probable Causes
    TAPE DRIVE
    MEDIA
    Failure Causes
    TAPE DRIVE
    MEDIA

    Have you an idea

  16. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    39
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Sorry I dont have an idea where it came from.
    Im still waiting for IBM to solve this issue.
    I have open PMR for that issue.

  17. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    286
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    I just received a call of IBM for this PMR, this person said is not a problem of software maybe hardware. He prupose to upgrade all micro-code. I have :
    Atape 11.2.9.0 purpose to 11.6.0.0
    Drive 3592 1DD1 no purpose i do check
    Frame 7379 no purpose i check.

    Have you an other solution!

    Best regards.

  18. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    39
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Hi Samuel,

    Thank for sharing your information about this issue.
    I have 6 LTO4 drives and all of them with the latest micro-code.
    and about the ATape driver is also the latest one
    lin_taped-1.24.0-1
    lin_tape-1.24.0-1
    ftp://service.boulder.ibm.com/storag...rce-lin_taped/
    Thx ,.

  19. #19
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    286
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    For me :
    Library TS3500, drive 3592
    http://www-01.ibm.com/support/docvie...f-8&lang=en+en

  20. #20
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    39
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Hi Samuel,

    I have checked your link and I have the latest firmware version on the tapes
    LTO Ultrium 4 Fibre drive firmware
    (Downloads available at end of page)
    - 94D4L4F.zip (contains 94D4L4F.ro)
    - 94D4L4F.tar (contains 94D4L4F.ro)

  21. #21
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    48
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Can someone help me in getting the IBM LTO 4 tape drive drivers for Windows Server 2003. I am using a Scalar i500 library with 4 LTO drives. I am not able to get the drivers. Could someone help me please.

  22. #22
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    286
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default after more upgrade, this errors persisting

    Now i have :
    library firmware : 7420
    drive firmware : 1E0D
    atape : 11.7.1.0

    BUt i have already an entrie in errpt.

    IBM said me "it's just an information not an error".

    I continue to check for resolve this problem.

Similar Threads

  1. path offline problem
    By ShimaaMagdy in forum Tape / Media Library
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-17-2009, 03:14 AM
  2. "ANR1722E the path from source to destination taken offline "
    By gardenia in forum Backup / Archive Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-03-2009, 06:11 AM
  3. Path Offline
    By darrenwallace in forum Tape / Media Library
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-13-2009, 11:05 AM
  4. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-04-2008, 01:51 PM
  5. Path Offline !!
    By adminNT in forum Tape / Media Library
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-22-2004, 05:37 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •